Ratings based on 1,084 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2017
Room was cosy but neat and clean. The bed was comfortable and the staff were super friendly and helpful. We'd stay there again for short stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017 by Jo-Anne Ashby, General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous thank you for such a lovely review! I am really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Upper Hutt

Easy access.

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: The well-informed and helpful staff, the convenient location and the cleanliness.
Cons: A second chair in the room would be good when there are 2 occupants.
Location: Short bus trip to Port Stephens' many beaches. Departing point for Hunter River cruises. Newcastle has great waterfront. Interesting history, museums
We stayed at the Ibis Newcastle in order to visit friends in Fingal Bay and see the Port Stephens area and also to do the Nova cruise on the Hunter river to historic Morpeth. The hotel was easy to get to from Sydney by train and bus. The staff were very helpful, advising us on the location of places to eat, bus stops, etc. The room was fine - clean, with comfortable beds and good bathroom. It was within easy walking distance of the waterfront, a great place for a stroll and a coffee, as well as being the departing place for our Hunter River trip. It is also within walking distance of the very interesting museums.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017 by Jo-Anne Ashby, General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Shirley Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review! We really appreciate the feedback Regards
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Very small room, very basic amenities. Hallways aren't clean. Parking is an extra $15/night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2017 by Jo-Anne Ashby, General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I have passed your comments on the hallways to housekeeping to ensure they are being maintained. Regards
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smalll no view

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Small no view small tv not that handy to anything all the ibis hotels are pretty dumpy and low effort cost but this one was really small
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2017 by Jo-Anne Ashby, General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am really sorry to hear that we missed the mark with your stay. Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great Vakue

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: Reasonably close to the yacht club as well as mid town.
Easy access, ckean room, solid walls so no noise from room ether side
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2017 by Jo-Anne Ashby, General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Frank Thank you for taking the time to post a review I am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay Regards
5 out of 5
by vicki

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney australia

don't purchase the buffet breakfast

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Lastminute
The buffet breakfast is not worth the $22/$17 you pay. Get more value & fresher food by going to a local cafe. However, the dinner menu & food is Devine! The rooms are very basic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by Jo-Anne Ashby, General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear L, thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed dinner with us but sorry you were not satisfied with breakfast. Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very central can walk to most places

Posted Mar 28, 2017
No bad experiences. The room just needs general maintenance, please vacuum under beds, and wipe down door handles and walls were people put their hands as they get dirty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by Jo-Anne Ashby, General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous Thank you for your feedback, I have passed it onto the housekeeping team Regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Hotel was good generally but one of the staff member was so rude ..will not stay in the future .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average no parking when we check in after 10pm

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Wotif
Hotel can do with ful Upgrade it was dirty all over walls a bit noisy from street. Average budget place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by Jo-Anne Ashby, General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I do apologise we were unable to meet your expectations on this stay Regards