Ratings based on 985 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Nice hotel with lovely bush aspect

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: Aspect, modernity & cleanliness of room
Cons: Room service. Guests need to have things done for them: not asked to do them their self
Location: Location very central. 10-15 minutes to Newcastle, 10-15 minutes to John Hunter hospital
The experience was lovely - the ground floor room I had was overlooking the bush & views of the city. Very quiet and lots of sunshine in room the next morning. Uplifting & rejuvenating. Only drawbacks were no microwave in room, no lift in building and room service not 100% (phone not working)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet and Cosy

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Cons: - The air-con in room 209 - Some of the large mugs in the buffet were not washed properly. - The alcohol serving area need comfortable furnitures
Our room was clean , the only problem was the air-con (room 209) which periodically was making very loud noises, despite being very cold we had to turn off the heater/air-con the second night. The hotel is tired and need renovation which at the moment is on going. We had a pleasant stay there and enjoyed the buffet breakfast and a very good cocktail in the bar. The bar room was too empty and there was just little round tables and outdoor uncomfortable chairs there, which again we assumed regarding the undergoing renovation these all will be improved soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Macquarie

Nice hotel - make sure you eat at the restaurant v

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Nice bed - great room service , quick and tasty. Reasonable price. Staff lovely
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 27, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Nice views. Good breakfast.
Cons: In need of major renovation urgently, grubby and old.
Most staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel itself needs major works done - very disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2017 by Grant, Hotel Management
Thankyou for staying with us and I am sorry to hear our service and hotel did not meet your expectations. We are in the process of refurbishment and we are looking forward to sharing more of the improvements as they are completed. I am glad you enjoyed your breakfast from our refurbished restaurant. Regards, Grant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra

Stop over on way to Queensland.

Posted May 22, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Breakfast and staff.
Cons: Rooms need updating. Suggest the refrigerator needs replacing - preferably with a slightly larger model too.
Location: Fine stop over when travelling through - or for business trip as it is located just off the Pacific Highway and just a few minutes drive to shops.
Great value for money on Wotif. Breakfast was excellent (and at a reduced rate!) Staff were very good. Bed comfortable but room needs refurbishing. Small refrigerator not working too well.
5 out of 5
by Katie

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Paul, Hotel Management
Dear Katie, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Guests feedback is always appreciated. We hope to see you on your next visit. Kind regards, Vanessa
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet, relaxing location

Posted May 9, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Location, cleanliness.
Cons: Service of restaurant staff.
Refurbishing in process. Restaurant service very slow despite few patrons.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2017 by Grant, Hotel Management
Thankyou for staying with us and for providing you review. Sorry our service appeared slow in the restaurant We also deliver a lot of room service throughout the evening, this can sometimes have an impact on kitchen services during busy times as we work through the orders as fast as we can. I hope to see you back again soon. Regards, Grant
5 out of 5
by Gordon

3 night visit

Posted May 4, 2017 on Hotels
Suited our trip perfectly, Staff very friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Paul, Hotel Management
Dear Gordon, It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We hope to see you on your next visit. Kind regards, Vanessa.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast, Queensland

Ok for an overnight business trip.

Posted May 3, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Nothing really.
Cons: Needs an update, make it more family friendly.
Location: Close to the city and shops.
This hotel is not suited to family travellers. The bathroom has nowhere to put things and is outdated. We also had to pay an extra $20 per night for a baby cot. It would be ok for a single business night stay but doesn't really have anything going for it other than its proximity to the city and shops etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2017 by Grant, Hotel Management
Thankyou for staying with us. I am sorry your stay was not as expected and you are certainly correct that we are centrally located for convenient access to Newcastle but are generally outside walking distance to attractions. Perhaps on your next stay, consider our family rooms which offer a larger space and a queen plus 3 x single beds. Regards, Grant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2017 on Lastminute
Comfortable and easy to access, clean rooms and good showers.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by Vanessa., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback as our guests satisfaction is very important to us. We hope to see you on your next visit. Kind regards,