Ratings based on 170 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great food, the accommodation was good value.

Posted May 9, 2016 on Wotif
Great food, the accommodation was really good value.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Wotif
Great place, has quite a juxtaposition between the dining area and public bar... this place would suit anyone. The bar is a quintessential pub the dining area white table cloths and candles. Food was wonderful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great value pub and accommodation!

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The staff were great, the cleanliness, the refurbished rooms, the price!
Cons: We did miss a mini fridge in the room.
Location: A 10 minute drive to the main centre of Newcastle which has on offer its lake and beaches, plenty of cafes and restaurants!
We were pleasantly surprised with the standard of accommodation, considering it is a pub. Everything was freshly refurbished - the rooms, communal kitchenette and toilets/showers (some rooms have shared facilities). The rooms were generous, spotlessly clean and came with air con, comfy beds, flat screen TVs (and the coffee pods were a nice touch)! The staff were courteous and obliging, and they couldn't help us enough with any assistance we needed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Wotif
Cons: Provide adequate parking
The rooms were satisfactory, however the noise from the bar below continued into the early hours. Car parking was limited-we had to park on the road due to a lack of parking. The staff were very friendly and explained features of the hotel etc. I feel it was not value for money.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NSW

Good pub close to Newcastle Entertainment Centre

Posted Mar 3, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Location
Cons: Would be good to be able to reserve a table when booking room. We missed out and husband very sick the next day travelling home from bad fast food.
Location: Within walking distance to entertainment centre
Second time we have stayed there, very convenient to the Newcastle Entertainment Centre.
4 out of 5
by Suzanne from Port Macquarie

5 Minutes walk to Entertainment Centre

Posted Feb 17, 2016 on Hotels
Great spot to stay. 5 minutes walk to Entertainment Centre. Old pub but very clean. Accommodation has been updated recently. We had a shared bathroom but were the only ones to use it. Would stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room facilities inadequate

Posted Feb 16, 2016 on Wotif
Considering what we paid for the room and that we were there for 4 nights, the room was tiny with 2 single beds very close together. ( My son and I are both 6ft4 and 6ft 6). there was no bar fridge, iron or ironing board which we needed as we were there on business. could have paid the same price somewhere else for better accommodation
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mid north coast NSW

overnight stay to attend entertainment centre show

Posted Feb 14, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: location
Cons: rooms require own en-suite
Location: close to Newcastle entertainment centre for shows etc.
clean accommodation ,hotel courtesy bus provided for transport to show venue .off street parking provided. hotel facilities and meals good. would stay again if attending Newcastle area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

close to the centre of the city

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Pros: Staff and food
Cons: Bathrooms in all the rooms
The staff were very helpful and nice to deal with. The food was well priced, the special (Hamburger & Chips) was delicious and the restaurant had a reasonable 9pm closing time with a good selection of beers on tap.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

Close to the expo

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Great experience till morning when leaving someone had touch our car and also decided write on the back window something i didn't need our son to see when we got home.