Ratings based on 333 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from russell island

Great hotel great staff excellent location

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Had a great 3 night stay , had a couple of little problems but were fixed straight away and the staff made sure we were happy . great team all round . very happy and we will be back. Thanks again guys .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Cosy and comfortable - very central and convenient

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Its location, cleanliness and comfy bed.
Cons: Working aircon.
A great location, right opposite the Civic Theatre, The Art Gallery, great cafe's, restaurants and an excellent Brewery. The bus from Hamilton Station drops you directly opposite the hotel and it's a nice walk into the mall, Ocean Baths and marina. The hotel room was comfortable, the bathrooms could use a little updating but the bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. The only issue I had was with air-conditioning that didn't work, the receptionist on shift was really helpful and pro-active and moved me to a new room, alas the air con in the new room didn't really function that well either but it's a historic building so you expect this kind of thing and they are working on the issue. I wouldn't bother with a balcony room either, those rooms are at the back and overlook a carpark and are kind of noisy with air con units. Also room service was a little slow, the first night my food was just warm and the second my burger and fries were cold. Overall I was happy with my stay, except when I checked out I was confronted over an initial review I left about check in, I presume the woman who did so was the owner or manager as she was quite upset and was very confrontational and speaking down to me, the whole thing was very awkward to be honest - she really just kept going on to the point where I had to ask her to stop. It kind of ruined the whole stay to be honest but that shouldn't be a reflection of the hotel as staff were helpful and accomodating in all other aspects.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just a tad from cafe culture- still a decent stay.

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Wotif
Was fine, attached to pub. No dramas, just not my kind of atmosphere.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

More 2 star than 4 star, poor service as no staff

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is very run down, parking is away from the place. We were not communicated properly about the parking as we check in late. Check in person only there till 12 noon and then its no one at the property. Room is small. Dont know how its 4 star, feels more like 2 star. Location is very good center of city
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

A quiet and central escape

Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The location.
Cons: I'd have appreciated instructions as to how to operate the entertainment system and a listing of the TV stations.
Location: Right next door to the Civic Theatre and easy walking distance of everythning.
I went to Newcastle for two nights between Christmas and New Year. The Clarendon Hotel was not trading but they are well set up for guests to check themselves in. My room was quiet and comfortable. It was handy to have a microwave. I was able to stroll to the beach and to various eateries other attracthions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great high quality hotel

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Great location, clean, tidy room plenty big enough for 4 guests. Bar/restaurant downstairs was fantastic Amenities and facilities were great. Early check out easy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Wotif
I have stayed at this hotel on many occasions and I have never been disappointed. The rooms are well presented the meals are excellent and the staff there have always been friendly and welcoming. The staff in the restaurant where friendly and helpful in particular a waitress named Angelica who explained in detail what Vegan Chicken is. ( well worth a try)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United States

Fine Hotel in the heart of Newcastle

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Orbitz
This is a great hotel in the heart of Newcastle. It is walking distance to plenty of restaurants, bars, and landmarks of Newcastle. It's also close to numerous bus stops (great bus system in Newcastle, imo). The free WiFi was surprisingly strong. I would definitely stay in this facility if I'm back in Newcastle.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tingira Heights

Convient location

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Wotif
Comfortable room with a great large bathroom Close to our party at Honeysuckle