Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

On tour with the Palace!!

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff. Great location on the coast and an excellent selection of beers.
Excellent Hotel located right on the coast. Great bar with a superb selection of beers including 'Raven' which was a lovely Milk Stout. 30 minutes walk to the Stadium of Light and another away win for the mighty Crystal Palace. Another cracking weekend on tour with the Eagles!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Taipei, Taiwan

飯店人員親切

Posted Sep 10, 2016
飯店人員親切且會主動上前關心,房型老舊但乾淨,唯動線上一些客房無法用電梯到達,若有大件行李較不方便(需搬上搬下)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2016
We stayed one night, as we seeing a show at the empire theatre in Sunderland. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room a standard room was adequate, maybe a little tired in places, but clean. The bed was comfortable, however the room itself was extremely hot. There was no air con in the room so we asked for a fan, which was provided and left switched on for us while we went out. However it did not seem to help any and the heat in the room did affect our sleep. Breakfast was lovely, good quality produce, and freshly cooked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Fab choice of accommodation

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Top experience with the hotel, room was clean and staffs were most helpful. Excellent location just opposite the beach and 20 mins walk from Morrison's. Plenty of parking space but since there was a wedding going on initially was hard to find parking.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Plymouth

Sea front hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: The room and view
Cons: Found waiting for food took a long time,plus the coffee at breakfast could be improved
Location: The hotel location is near family plus has a lovely view of the sea front.
The hotel room was very clean and warm,but on this occasion found the noise levels high.Our room overlooks the sea which we love but underneath us is the bar and reception entrance,it's usually reasonable as we have stayed here before,but there were a couple of wedding receptions until late making it hard to sleep.Having said that we would stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nuneaton

Excellent Sea View

Posted Jul 22, 2016
The location of the hotel was excellent and car parking easy with an overflow car park at the back of the hotel . All the staff at the hotel from check in until we left were very friendly and helpful. We dined at the hotel on all 3 nights and the food was excellent and good value, again although the staff were busy they were stlll very pleasant and the service very good. The only down side was the continental breakfast as it did not include a choice of yogurts , selection of meats or chopped fresh fruit, but the cooked breakfast was excellent. I would definitely return to this hotel again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from staffs

Lovely hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: Location, friendly staff, amenities
Cons: Some relatively minor upgrading, and definitely air conditioning
Location: Easy walks to the beach, and into the next town, short drive to a more traditional resort if needed, great place to relax, eat and drink.
Lovely hotel, staff very friendly, great sea views, wonderful Italian restaurant only thing that was an issue for me was the hotel was so hot, even the open windows had no effect, borrow a fan from the reception as soon as you arrive, I would definitely go back, sitting looking out to sea whilst eating a great breakfast is a must
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel with Character

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: Room size is great and the bathroom in room 125 is huge, staff were very nice.
Cons: Decor was not too good in eithe the room or the bathroom and as stated before the fridge that was in there has been removed.
Location: Loads to do near by and around the hotel itself
We stayed at this hotel 2 years ago and had the same room this time, it's quite pricey compared to othe hotels and even though the rooms were supposed to be upgraded it was in fact worse than the time we stayed before, the chest of draws did not close and thye had removed the small fridge?
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dundee

Nice entrances but don't judge a book by its cover

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Lovely entrance, bar etc however we were expecting one of the rooms that were advertised due to the price but we got a box room in the basement which had no aircon and when the sun comes up in the morning ur dying if you have a waterview,the room is tiny never mind swining a cat u can't spread ur feet
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alton

Decent hotel in a great location on Roker seafront

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: Good location. Comfortable Bed.
Cons: Updated bathroom. Better heating/cooling of rooms. The breakfast was very average.
Location: Just over the road from Roker Pier and beach. Just around the corner from Roker Park. Easy level walk (about 25 minutes) to the Stadium of Light.
This hotel is in an ideal location if you want to be on Roker seafront. The weather was good during our stay so we had a lovely view over Roker Pier and the beach. It is also an easy walk (about 25 minutes) to the Stadium of Light. We had an Executive Room with a sea view at the front of the hotel which we think is probably worth the extra money. The bathroom was a bit small but everything worked fine. The bed was very comfortable. The weather was general cool, at least at night, during our stay but we think this that the room would, probably, be too warm on a warm night. The window does open but that then lets in a lot of street noise. Breakfast was very average.