Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not so great

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Cons: Heating in rooms. And customer service at reception
The room was cold and heating turned off. Turned it off but they switch it off over night. Woke up cold Got bill in the morning. Didn't meet what I was charged. The £8 not on the bill was paid to your company as commission and I was given no receipt for full amount,hotel don't want to know it's my problem to sort out. Will never stay again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Loud and hot

Posted Mar 22, 2017
We arrived at the hotel at 7pm and music was already blaring but were told last drinks were at 11.30pm so we figured the sound wouldn't be a problem. When we got to the room it was very hot and we realised heat was coming from an extremely hot towel rail in the bathroom. We called reception and one of the barmen arrived with a wrench in hand (obviously it was a common problem) to turn it off for us. It took hours after it had been turned off to cool. Meanwhile we were in the room (with the window open to cool it) waiting for the music to stop. At 1am with loud thumping music still going strong we rang reception to enquire when the music was being turned off to which we were told they were just getting the last few customers out of the bar, who apparently hadn't had a drink served for 1.5 hours. The music finally got turned off 30 minutes later. The room was nice but between the heat and the music it wasn't a good experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire, England

Friendly Hotel by the Sea

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Loved the location and the fact the hotel has a choice of three eateries - everything under one roof. They distill their own gin! Very nice
Location: Right by the sea and easy walk to Seaburn where there are lovely restaurants - Gabrielle's Italian in particular. Roker area is lovely
Opted for an executive room - and we weren't disappointed. Beautifully furnished (recently refurbished) the room had a sea view, and had little touches that made the stay memorable. Tassimo coffee/tea maker, decent shower products, gown and choose the turn down service and you receive a tasty cake and some slippers!! The bed was a comfy king size, and although we were above the front door (and bar) once the bar had closed at 11 there was no disturbance. Even when open, although you could hear the TV, and conversation from the bar, it wasn't intrusive. That said, we stayed midweek, so whether it's a bit noisier during the weekend, I wouldn't know. The breakfast during the week was freshly cooked (fewer guests) and delicious. Friday morning, however, it was hot buffet service (more guests I'm guessing). It was ok - but the scrambled egg resembled a hard block of mashed potato (not visually enticing!) so I requested a couple of poached eggs, which were delivered quickly and I expect tasted better! That said, it is difficult to precook the egg and keep it warm .... The staff were all friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. There was a problem with the wifi whilst we were there - but that's the world over! Highly recommend this hotel and do try their gin - distilled on site.
4 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Absolutely loved it, great location so chilled, will be returning in the New Year
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
Room was big smelt abit as they was painting but overall its ok
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not bad not great but ok

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
It was ok after a bad start shower was not as it should be
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nicely located hotel

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed here a few times, it's ok for a night or two. The bar can be a little pricey for some things (bottle of house red will run you £12.95). Good outdoor smoking area with heaters that actually work! Always a bonus at this time of year! Staff are helpful and friendly. Like I say, it's ok for a night or two.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An interesting hotel!!

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
I was originally placed in a room, possibly in a different county (the walk to the room took forever and required the use of a map to find reception again). I opened the curtains to find a family of four sitting in their car enjoying fish n chips directly opposite my window. There was a weird smell in the hallway. I asked reception if I could be moved and they gladly accommodated my request. Moved to a room on 1st floor which was slightly bigger but much better.