Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

The room supplied was very small

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: Lots of choice of food on the premesis 3 different foods to choose from.
Cons: The room was exceptionally small and seemed more like a single than a double. When we first entered a chair had been put in front of the door and blocked our way in, on closer inspection there was nowhere else to put the chair. The bathroom was old and shabby to the point that it did not look like it had been cleaned. There was a fragrance plug in in the room and as I am allergic we removed it which then made the smell funny. The hotel was under refurbishment at the time of our stay but that was not mentioned when we arrived. I hope that this room has not yet been done as it definitely needed some tlc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ayrshire

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: I was given a family room even though I was by myself. It was clean and comfortable although on the first night it was very warm and I had to ask to have the heating turned down. The bar meals were your usual choices and a decent enough standard. The Italian restaurant was a better alternative.
Cons: The staff were polite but not overly friendly. The service at breakfast could have been better, possibly under staffed.
Location: It is in a really nice location, on the coast and a great place to base yourself while you explore the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N Ireland

Hotel is in lovely location and very clean.

Posted Oct 20, 2016
We enjoyed our stay at the Roker hotel but we were in room 128 which is up at the back and unsuitable for anyone with mobility problems and the view wasn't very nice compared to the lovely view at front. Breakfast is an extra £10 per person which we declined and walked up to the cafe bungalow on opposite side of road and got lovely full English for £6.50 served until 3pm. Room didn't have any drawers for small items of clothing so we had to keep underwear etc in our cases. Rooms are very clean and tidy but lack of storage space let's them down.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nottingham

Good seaviews

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: The
The radiators weren't on when I arrived, but staff immediately sent me a heater, and the plumber came the next morning. Room warm and cosy! Italian restaurant served delicious food at excellent prices.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location close to beach

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Room comfortable and very clean
Cons: Buffet breakfast cold but table service fine next 2 days. Lights in room poor unable to read very well, especially by bed.
Location: Near Seaburn and Sunderland. Good location
Decent stay for 3 nights but let down by terrible noise from function held on 1st night. Appallingly loud music and singing until 12.10 pm, during which time we could neither sleep nor hear our tv, AWFUL. We had requested a quiet room as we are both 78 yrs but obviously this was ignored I'm afraid. Younger people may have coped better so suggest not a hotel for the elderly or anyone needing peace and quiet. Not value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

On tour with the Palace!!

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff. Great location on the coast and an excellent selection of beers.
Excellent Hotel located right on the coast. Great bar with a superb selection of beers including 'Raven' which was a lovely Milk Stout. 30 minutes walk to the Stadium of Light and another away win for the mighty Crystal Palace. Another cracking weekend on tour with the Eagles!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2016
We stayed one night, as we seeing a show at the empire theatre in Sunderland. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room a standard room was adequate, maybe a little tired in places, but clean. The bed was comfortable, however the room itself was extremely hot. There was no air con in the room so we asked for a fan, which was provided and left switched on for us while we went out. However it did not seem to help any and the heat in the room did affect our sleep. Breakfast was lovely, good quality produce, and freshly cooked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Fab choice of accommodation

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Top experience with the hotel, room was clean and staffs were most helpful. Excellent location just opposite the beach and 20 mins walk from Morrison's. Plenty of parking space but since there was a wedding going on initially was hard to find parking.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plymouth

Sea front hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: The room and view
Cons: Found waiting for food took a long time,plus the coffee at breakfast could be improved
Location: The hotel location is near family plus has a lovely view of the sea front.
The hotel room was very clean and warm,but on this occasion found the noise levels high.Our room overlooks the sea which we love but underneath us is the bar and reception entrance,it's usually reasonable as we have stayed here before,but there were a couple of wedding receptions until late making it hard to sleep.Having said that we would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nuneaton

Excellent Sea View

Posted Jul 22, 2016
The location of the hotel was excellent and car parking easy with an overflow car park at the back of the hotel . All the staff at the hotel from check in until we left were very friendly and helpful. We dined at the hotel on all 3 nights and the food was excellent and good value, again although the staff were busy they were stlll very pleasant and the service very good. The only down side was the continental breakfast as it did not include a choice of yogurts , selection of meats or chopped fresh fruit, but the cooked breakfast was excellent. I would definitely return to this hotel again.