Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

Very convenient location

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Location. Next door to restaurant. Fairly quiet. Friendly staff.
Cons: Choice of pillow softness.
Location: Good and near to restaurant. Can walk to football stadium and hospital buildings
Room was good size and had everything you need in good working order. It was easy to get to from the station and we were able to walk home from a night out, saving on taxis. I just wish the pillows had been softer, but that's my personal preference!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by Ian , Hotel Management
Dear Linda, Thank you for your feedback. It is nice to hear that everything was good for you during your stay. With regards to the pillows, if you found them to be a little hard we could have changed them if you had contacted reception. We look forward to welcoming you again to the Best Western Ryokan hotel. Kind Regards Ian Nicholls General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Worst hotel in forty years of travel

Posted May 1, 2017
The whole place is noisy. Windows rattle, stairs thud, traffic runs past all night. Next room occupants thudded up the stairs at 3am, shouting at each other, and continued to shout. It took two calls to the desk to convince him to do something. We had almost no sleep. Our complaint to to the manager Elicited a mumbled apology but nothing tangible in the way of recompense. The room was clean and adequate but not worth the price. Far too expensive for what you get. DO NOT STAY HERE
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by Ian Nicholls, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Mumbled response? You understood me fine on check-out. As mentioned the road noise is outwith our control. The guests on the weekend had been out, and asked to quieten down. Your shouting from the carpark on leaving was easily heard by the other guests. Very popular hotel with our regular guests. Thank you Ian Nicholls General Manager
4 out of 5
by Ian

It'' Do

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
Perfect location for town and St James Park which was our reason to book. Served a purpose and car park on site a bonus. Attentive, warm and friendly welcome.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017
Dear Ian, Thank you for your feedback. As you say ideal location for St. James Park, a hop skip and jump away, plus the added bonus of FREE onsite parking. We look forward to welcoming you again to the Best Western ryokan hotel on your next visit to Newcastle. Kind Regards Ian Nicholls General Manager
5 out of 5
by Mark

Very nice hotel clean and simple

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
Very helpful staff
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2017
Dear Mark, Thank you for taking time to leave some feedback. Glad to hear you found the staff to be helpful. We look forward to welcoming you again to the Best Western ryokan hotel. Kind Regards Ian Nicholls General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Clean, neat hotel close to town

Posted Mar 13, 2017
We arrived in Newcastle by bus at 5am and to our delight, we were able to check into our room early, which we really appreciated as we were exhausted from the trip and being able to lie down on a clean hotel bed was heaven! Another nice touch was that we were able to have food from the restaurant next door delivered right to our door - and the curries and naan we ordered were sensational!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Hotels
Convenient location if you need to be near the Royal Victoria Hospital.
4 out of 5
by Joanne

Convenient and clean hotel

Posted Jan 1, 2017 on Hotels
Booked in as going to watch the football. Hotel was less than a 10 minute walk. Room was spacious and clean. Friendly bar and restaurant next door. Hotel is on a main road so a little traffic noise but I it's pretty quiet so don't be put off by reviews critical of noise - I even had the window open and it wasn't that bad. It didn't eat, so can't comment on breakfast. Would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location and decent room

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was a 15 minute walk from the centre of Newcastle, so perfect for us attending a gig at the MetroRadio Arena. The room was compact but had everything we needed and was decorated nice and modern and perfectly clean.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, quiet and friendly hotel

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
Great staff. Clean and cmfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with parking onsite

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Ebookers
Great hotel with onsite car parking. Indian restaurant adjoined.not keen on Indian food but it's there for those that do. Room was very warm but this was due to the fact the thermostat was on 30 so easy sorted. Overall excellent hotel and staff. Would definitely stay again.