Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reasonably priced hotel in a good area

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Price - good value for money. Also, wifi in room was good.
Cons: Tell guests to keep the noise down during night silence hours, please.
Location: There are a variety of entertaining and good-looking bars nearby, as well as some good-value restaurants.
I had never stayed here before. The hotel was quite basic, but all that I think a person needs for a brief stay of a couple of days. The room was fairly basic and the television was an old cathode ray tube one, so I needed to sit quite a way back from it, in order to avoid damaging my eyes. The wifi in the room was good, though, which enabled me to get some emailing and admin done after breakfast, before setting off on my day's activities. What I would say is two things: firstly, the hinges on the doors need to be sprayed with WD40, since they creak like mad, which sounds like a herd of elephants in the night. Secondly, what sounded like five herds of elephants was an inconsiderate, drunken Yorkshireman, holding a conversation on his mobile phone on loud speaker mode, saying, "I can't find me room! Where's me effing room?!" I think it needs to be made clear to all guests that hours of night silence *by law* are between 11pm and 8am.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
Very impressed for the price
4 out of 5
by Martin from Bromsgrove

Carton review

Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
Parking was dusappointing
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Adequate

Posted Jun 21, 2016 on Hotels
On entering via the back due to car park the first thing note was how run down it appeared. Coming past the toilets to reception smelt of urine, not pleasant! Room was basic, clean enough, bed was uncomfortable and the hotel itself very noisy. The music did stop around 23.00pm. Breakfast staff could not have been more helpful. Overall I would not stay again.
2 out of 5
by lisa from Dublin

not impressed

Posted Mar 10, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed for 2 nights. Hotel is extremely run dwn the windows are held together with card board very drafty
4 out of 5
by Soma Y.

Perfect for business travel

Posted Feb 27, 2016 on Ebookers
I have stayed at Carlton during week days, as I travel to newcastle for work. Over the last 2 months, I have never felt the need to change or look for another place. The locate is convenient and the staff is friend and helpful
2 out of 5
by Steve from corby

stay here as a last resort

Posted Feb 16, 2016 on Hotels
Some staff were helpful most didn't care. Bed was poor and both of us kept "rolling into the middle of the bed" No cooked breakfast TV worked but gave out a constant buzzing sound - Need to upgrade Car park looked and felt like a refuse site Pub attached to the hotel was full of very young people drinking until the early hours
4 out of 5
by Joshua from Edinburgh

Great stay!

Posted Feb 2, 2016 on Hotels
Very affordable accommodation and great value for money. Rooms are very nice for the price you pay. The adjacent bar is lively and fun! And the staff had excellent customer service.
4 out of 5
by Soma Y.

Comfortable stay

Posted Jan 24, 2016 on Ebookers
The staff is nice and friendly. Hotel is very well located and convenient for all transports - the supermarket on the opposite side of the road - make it the perfect location for professionals, coming to town for work.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay!

Posted Jan 20, 2016 on Hotels
Great value for money