Ratings based on 856 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

river view

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: friendly staff.
Cons: Room and it's management. Breakfast staff OK but always had to call them over to order tea & coffee despite being shown to your table.
Location: easy access to city.
room 511 is a side view and looks across to office block not the panoramic river views as shown on website. As a consequence room felt dingy and increased road noise. Air con never heated room properly, hotel obviously aware as mobile electric radiator was in room but still struggled to heat adequately. Furniture dated and Wi Fi hopeless. Bathroom tatty, cracked basin, toilet seat fixing cover missing, wouldn't put the grubby discoloured phone in a jumble sale!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Location

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Great location as it is right on the edge of the Tyne. Looking left I could make out the bridges. The staff in the hotel were fantastic. There is a lively bar and a restaurant with an adequate menu. Large room.
Cons: At the end of the day this is really just another of those standard chain hotels. You know what to expect and you get what you expect. It does its job efficiently enough but it won't blow your socks off!
Location: Great for walks along the Tyne. Less good for shopping and the centre but good enough.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Turned out OK in the end....

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: The staff were very helpful.
Cons: Cold room
Location: Lots to do in Newcastle !!!
Unfortunately our room was very cold on arrival & it transpired the heating did not work in our room. No other rooms were available so mobile heaters were made available. Not quite the romantic start we had planned but the staff supplied a bottle of champagne and a complimentary breakfast so all good in the end.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Falkirk

Another great stay at the Copthorne

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Location: Perfect location, close to bars, restaurants and shops and a lovely view
Great stay yet again at the Copthorne at Newcastle - great rate too and perfect for a one night weekend stay - will continue to come back again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Surprisingly nice area too - lovely walking along the quayside in the evening when the Millenium bridge and other buildings were lluminated.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not for business

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: The staff are probably the best feature of this hotel - polite, helpful, cheerful and unobtrusive. Parking is plentiful and convenient. Nice view over the river.
Cons: The wi-fi is appalling and unacceptable for 2016. Absolutely useless for business use. Beds not particularly comfortable either.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Middlesbrough

Excellent location

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Location: Excellent location bars, shopping and all amenities are accessible. We used LA taxis to get about, get price first as sometimes they overcharge.
From booking in at reception were the receptionist was wonderful to booking out the next day we had a lovely time. The breakfast was great with plenty of choice all the rooms overlook the river and our room had a balcony. The bed was very comfy and the rooms are spacious.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northumberland

Excellent location

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Location: While the Copthorne is a bit of an uphill walk to the shopping centre of Newcastle it is within easy reach of the Sage and many restaurants.
The view from a Club room over the river Tyne is great and the rooms are quite spacious but they are "tired" and in need of refreshing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey, UK

Good Location but a bit tired

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: By the river next to the Tyne bridge. River walk. Nearby restaurants range from Michelin Star House of Tides to Weatherspoons (very good).
Located next to tyne. Good outlook. Near to Restaurants and shops. Relatively easy to find and get to. But....for amodern hotel its a bit shabby and uncared for........rickety lift from car park, cold lobby with no atmosphere, room with a great view overthe river but furniture old and worn, basin bathroom cracked, main door did not self close. The main entrance to this hotel could be impressive but its dirty badly lit and used as a parking area for vans, pick up trucks and a few cars. Overall OK but with a little TLC could be much better.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AU

Beautiful views and that's it unfortunately!

Posted Oct 7, 2016
So I had the worst reception experience with cold staff made me wait for ages with no apologies. The sent to my cold room with a bathroom that smelt quite bad! The room itself was comfortable and when I woke up the next morning the view was mesmerizing. That is actually what made it a bit better for me! On Saturday, the housekeeping came before nine am and on Saturday night there was a dance party in the hotel that went on with loud music till after midnight!