Ratings based on 202 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing experience

Posted Feb 8, 2017
First time at the doubletree Newcastle and it was absolutely amazing from start to finish. Amazing staff who couldn't do enough and were so helpful with our baby. Breakfast was very good and we were spoilt for choice. Thank you to everyone who made our stay so fantastic. Ps- the welcome cookies were delicious😀
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

One night prior to flying back, excellent stay

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Nice modern hotel, car parking (only 6 pounds over night), good/clean rooms, nice buffet breakfast, good services
Location: Right at the airport, it was on my way back home, didn't want to drop of the rental car as yet and parked it for only 6 pounds at the hotel.
Great experience, after parking my rental car in the hotels underground car park basically at the airport, I was greeted by a nice lady and giving a room for the night. The rooms are nice and spacious with all the mod/coms you expect. The beds are comfy and bathroom is nice. No issue with noice being close to the airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Very comfortable hotel next to the airport.

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Very comfortable and try to stay here when I travel to Newcastle as handy for metro and airport.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Freezing room, glacial response

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Service, temperature control, and educated desk clerks who don't understand the difference between Wales and Eire.
Location: I just booked it because it's at the airport.
I was given a handicapped room at the pointy end of the hotel (no recollection of asking for such) - huge long windows on 2 sides of my triangular room. It was bitterly cold - first you try to close the curtains but they won't pull, so called the desk - they said, there are buttons above your headboard to do this. There were no buttons above my headboard. There were many many buttons all over the walls, with no indication of their use- light switches? curtain closers? nothing. I called about the cold. They said they'd 'go out back' and do something. An hour later I called again. Some other explanation. Finally, they said they'd relocate me to another room - which they did more than 2 hours after my first complaint. I now have a horrible cold - I know you don't get a cold from being cold, but it attacks the immune system. Altogether a horrible experience - never again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

5 minute walk from airport

Posted Oct 2, 2016
The unmistakeable Hilton Double Tree hospitality. Well trained helpful staff. Nothing is too much trouble. Warm chocolate cookies on arrival - even when checking in at midnight. hotel well maintained and very clean. Standout of this property is that it is only a 5 minute (at most) walk from the airport exit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ladysmith

Nice hotel very lilies to the airport

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Nice room and bathroom, the bed was supercomfortable. It was well furnished and provided for. I had the buffet breakfast which was very tasty and offered almost anything one could wish for for breakfast. All of the staff I encountered were pleasant and best of all- it's not more than a 2 minute walk into the airport terminal. The only negative comment I have is that the bathroom hand basin drained very slowly. I reported this to the person on reception as I checked out and hopefully this was corrected.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Good hotel ans literally a 2 minute walk to the terminal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sunderland

Reasonably priced hotel right next to the airport

Posted Sep 4, 2016
A pleasant overnight stay. The hotel itself is clean and comfortable with good facilities. However we had a meal in Fratellos restaurant where the meal was decidedly average but the prices were not making it poor value for money. We waited ages for drinks because one of the waitresses went off to get a pad and never came back. That experience spoiled what otherwise would have been a perfect stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stockton

Gorgeous Hotel, very close to Newcastle Airport.

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Really close to Airport. Not far from town.
Was a lovely hotel, very friendly staff . Quick check-in. Room was amazing and food was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Quiet convenient comfort

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Cons: See note about unsociable hours gym use - health and safety issues?
Location: We went to the market towns of Alnwick and Morpeth; walked the beach at Alnmouth; saw Warkworth Castle ; took the metro Into Newcastle for shopping.
Visiting family, this was a great location for connecting to the Central station (Metro gets you smoothly to the airport) for return journies,and gives you the opportunity for car hire from a range of companies. Charge fr the parking was a niggle (£6 a day) but understandable. Remember to validate your ticket from reception before you exit - it wasn't explained to us on arrival. Rooms were spacious and restful -total blackout and triple glazed. Watch out for the unforeseen drawback of the room next to the gym (316). The gym was used at 4am ( health-conscious airline staff?) when the exercise bike was audible , not to mention the dropped medicine ball which was a very rude awakening. All was quiet the next night,however. Breakfast were wonderful - everything you would want and service was timely and friendly.We did not use the bar or restaurant. We all concluded we would use the hotel again.