Ratings based on 693 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing experience

Posted Feb 8, 2017
First time at the doubletree Newcastle and it was absolutely amazing from start to finish. Amazing staff who couldn't do enough and were so helpful with our baby. Breakfast was very good and we were spoilt for choice. Thank you to everyone who made our stay so fantastic. Ps- the welcome cookies were delicious😀
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

One night prior to flying back, excellent stay

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Nice modern hotel, car parking (only 6 pounds over night), good/clean rooms, nice buffet breakfast, good services
Location: Right at the airport, it was on my way back home, didn't want to drop of the rental car as yet and parked it for only 6 pounds at the hotel.
Great experience, after parking my rental car in the hotels underground car park basically at the airport, I was greeted by a nice lady and giving a room for the night. The rooms are nice and spacious with all the mod/coms you expect. The beds are comfy and bathroom is nice. No issue with noice being close to the airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Very comfortable hotel next to the airport.

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Very comfortable and try to stay here when I travel to Newcastle as handy for metro and airport.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel with good restaurant

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel staff were excellent and helpful. The surprise of our stay was Fratello's Italian Restaurant, operated by the hotel. Christopher Scott, the Food and Beverage Manager, and his staff provided excellent food and service and we and our friends ate there both nights of our stay. The hotel is just five minutes walk from the transit station and for 4.90 Pounds one can buy an all day ticket and visit the sights of Newcastle, which include the Great North Museum/Hancock and the city's old architecture.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great airport hotel

Posted Nov 5, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel. Very nice and one of the best we have stayed at this year
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel but our room was cold

Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
Arrived at 8pm, room was fantastic but very cold. Put heating on and then went for a meal. Meal was great well cooked and really enjoyed it. Back to the room at 10pm still very cold, played with the heating then fell a sleep. Woke up at 2am bloody freezing had another go at the heating, had a shower to try and warm myself up when I noticed the heated towel rail was not working also. 4am went downstairs to complain and was told the heating was controlled from downstairs and non of the heated towel rails work. left hotel and went to the airport for warmth.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Freezing room, glacial response

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Service, temperature control, and educated desk clerks who don't understand the difference between Wales and Eire.
Location: I just booked it because it's at the airport.
I was given a handicapped room at the pointy end of the hotel (no recollection of asking for such) - huge long windows on 2 sides of my triangular room. It was bitterly cold - first you try to close the curtains but they won't pull, so called the desk - they said, there are buttons above your headboard to do this. There were no buttons above my headboard. There were many many buttons all over the walls, with no indication of their use- light switches? curtain closers? nothing. I called about the cold. They said they'd 'go out back' and do something. An hour later I called again. Some other explanation. Finally, they said they'd relocate me to another room - which they did more than 2 hours after my first complaint. I now have a horrible cold - I know you don't get a cold from being cold, but it attacks the immune system. Altogether a horrible experience - never again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient for my needs

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
Well placed, near the hotel and metro. Rooms of a very good standard and staff very helpful
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

On Airport

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
Really good quality hotel next to airport minutes from town centre.