Ratings based on 146 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

It’s not good

Posted Apr 13, 2018
This hotel is not responsible for stay because of its not comfortable for proper sleeping
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2018 by Paul, Hotel Management
Hello Thanks for your review. I was disappointed you did not enjoy your time in Newcastle. Apolgies from us all for the inconvenience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

central position close to railway station

Posted Mar 17, 2018
Minimal time spent there but sufficient for my requirements. Good breakfast in the morning. mattress a bit too soft
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 18, 2018 by Euro Hostels, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed here several times but on this occasion reception was not as friendly or informative as it usually is. Probably stayed here half a dozen times a year. Very noisy during my stay with rowdy guests on corridor until the earlier hours of the morning. Signage and directions confusing. Building work taking place so that may well have been part of the problem. However, much friendlier in the past. Reluctant to return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 25, 2017
Hello, We apologise that our staff came across as unfriendly, and shall address this directly within the team. Regrettably with regards to noise, we are unable to maintain a constant presence through out the night. The reception team normally encourages all guests to let them know of any issues throughout their stays because of this, however we appreciate that this is not always a viable solution. Our nights team also conduct several walks throughout the premises to catch out any major disturbances including noise, however it appears we did not meet the standard we strive to achieve. We apologise that your stay was a less than enjoyable one, and we shall work with the feedback you have provided to ensure that all guests in the future can stay peacefully. If you have any further comments or suggestions to make, please do not hesitate to get in touch. Kind regards, Alex Night Reception Team Member
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shabby hostel

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Booked a last minute family room when travel plans changed. Room was shabby with a strange smell. Bottom bunk was buckled and uncomfortable. Constant noise, doors banging people shouting. Would not recommend this as a place to stay with a family
2 out of 5
by Miguel

Below average - not a real hostel

Posted Oct 20, 2017 on Hotels
Staff definitely need to read about customer service, for the knowledge they have of it is non-existent. I mean to rate this property low simply because its characteristics clash directly against the essence of a hostel: -The breakfast is paid for, yet there is no kitchen for guests to prepare their own meals/breakfast. -Check-in is very late 3pm, yet there is nowhere for you to leave your luggage, unles you pay them. - On departure, I also asked if they could keep my bag until my train later that evening, and they came back again saying I would need to pay for that. I my opinion, if you want to be called a hostel, you should offer free luggage storage, and free breakfast. If you want to charge for breakfast, you must at least have kitchen facilities for guests to make their stay pleasant and economic.
4 out of 5
by Nathalie

Cheap and cheerful

Posted Oct 13, 2017 on Hotels
Cheap but comfortable accommodation for an overnight stay in Newcastle. Bet was a little lumpy but overall it was a good stay. That said, breakfast doesn't start until 8am which I think is late and wasn't clear at time of booking, so I paid for a breakfast I didn't get!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BC, Canada

Wasn't my favourite place...

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Was decent enough and an excellent and convenient place to stay... Bed was actually incredibly warm and comfy, but the bathroom needed a bit of love.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Devon

Handy for the local area

Posted Sep 20, 2017
You pay for what you get every thing to hand the room are basic but clean and staff were friendly
4 out of 5
by Ryan

Newcastle stay over

Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
Nice location, friendly staff perfect for a night out on the town without breaking the bank.
5 out of 5
by LINDA

Posted Aug 25, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful staff.