Ratings based on 128 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 6, 2017
Shower tape was out of service of my friend room and they blame it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location. Room is rather old.

Posted May 3, 2017
Good location. Room is rather old and basic. Table is so worn and should have been discarded.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stirling

Very central.

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Central location. Once you work out which roads won't earn you a ticket, access is easy & there was parking outside.
Cons: Slamming fire door outside room.
Location: You are in the city centre, 100 metres motorway. 1/4 mile rail. Pubs, clubs, restaurants, cinema, shops, Metro arena, medieval city walls, castle.
It was what i expected. Reasonably comfortable, cleanish, no frills good value.
3 out of 5
by Patricia

ok for the odd night

Posted Mar 11, 2017 on Hotels
Things were not as expected we requested a double room it was a family room with bunk beds in which was a little claustrophobic We booked because breakfast was included when it came to breakfast time alas it was not on the list and had to sort that out have to say the staff were very helpful and did their best to sort things out My feelings are that they should be fully informed of the details ! we should not have to sort out things that we thought were booked
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Nice place and got an upgrade when checking in. Disappointing breakfast - paid for 4 items and only got 3. Coffee was nice though.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly and helpful staff - rooms need some work!

Posted Feb 1, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed January 2017. Friendly and helpful staff. Easy access to the city centre. Rooms and furniture were dated, and the building could do with some fresh air flowing through - bit musty!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hostel but needs a guest kitchen!

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
Apart from the lack of a guest's kitchen, a large shortfall, I thought it was a good hostel with great staff. I greatly enjoyed Newcastle and side trips to Durham and Tynemouth over my 4 night stay....
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I guess, you get what you've paid for...

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Ebookers
Location: Location is very good. Very near to the centre. Not the prettiest sight though.
Bad odours that made you doubt about the cleanliness of the property. Wear and tear. I guess that is what you get for £39 per night? Breakfast £1 per item. 5 items for £4.50. Never seen it before. If you want a proper English Breakfast or just simply breakfast, I suggest to go to the city centre and you'll find many Cafes who do breakfast or at the Grainger Market.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place for the price!!

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoyed my stay, right in the centre of Newcastle. Room was a little small and bathroom wasn't the best compared to last time I stayed here where it was more spacious. Wifi a little slow (you can pay extra for premium wifi). Considering the price overall it's a great place to stay for the weekend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Construction zone in central city -not their fault

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Noise from guests (adjacent construction not hotel's fault), access to kitchen
Location: Central to CBD & riverside activities
More needs to be done to contain inconsiderate noisy guests eg loud phone confabs in corridor. Facilities were adequate, but access to strange kitchen setup was limited. Staff very helpful, friendly, competent. No parking on site caused us expense and some stress....