Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stockport

Unique stay off the beaten track

Posted Nov 20, 2017
We were looking for a hotel for a night in Newcastle but were put off by the high prices of the city centre hotels. After a search came across Hedgefield House which was reasonably priced, sounds interesting and only a 10 minute drive to the center. The hotel is an old mansion but has been refurbished to a good standard. Our room was advertised as shared bathroom but was as good as ensuite with two excellent bathrooms just opposite the room. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The included continental breakfast too was excellent with plenty of choice. The hotel is in its own grounds which were an added bonus and already has a Christmas feel with numerous decorations. Would certainly recommend for staying in Newcastle if you don't mind the short journey in and like somewhere with a unique feel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

quality accommodation

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Quirky Interior décor/furniture/fittings Excellent hosts/service Very clean throughout Enjoyable continental breakfast Sizeable rooms on site car park
Location: We used thisa ccomodation as a base when attending th golf at Close house.and it was ideal.We did not have the opportunity to explore the locality.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hedgefield which suited our needs perfectly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cardiff

Posted Sep 5, 2017
House and grounds are lovely, and room was comfortable, clean & quiet. Great bteakfast, and ample free parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great find, beautiful, clean hotel!

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Gardens, room and location
Cons: Breakfast times are too limited and too early at weekends
Location: Lovely setting and not too far from Newcastle centre.
On arrival I was shown to my room which was very impressive. It was spacious and very clean. My only real moan about the hotel is the limited breakfast times. 8.15-9.15 a.m. at weekends? Breakfast is adequate - that's all continental breakfast every is in my view! One last thing, when check-out is 11 a.m. you don't expect 2 cleaners to be waiting impatiently outside your room at 10.45 a.m. when you leave! Overall, this did not spoil the stay too much and I would return as it was good value and in a beautiful setting too.
5 out of 5
by Andrew

Pure blissfulness

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
One of the best places I've stayed in, the room was beautiful the only downside was they don't do a cooked breakfast
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet and tranquil with nice gardens

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Perfect overnight stay location, rooms have had a lot of thought put into them and the overall experience is great if you want a quiet tranquil location that is close to the city.
4 out of 5
by Terence

One night stay at Hedgefield House Hotel

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel set in very pleasant grounds and very quiet. Rooms clean and adequate for one night stay on business. Good selection of continental style breakfast.
5 out of 5
by Pasquale

Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
Really lovely place room was superb, bed very comfortable breakfast good, surroundings exquisite
2 out of 5
by Hedgefield House from Newcastle

Their neighbors are their best asset

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
If you're coming to stay in a pretty room with a great pub just a 5 minute walk away, that's what you'll get. If you're looking for any sort of hospitality, or you're paying a bit extra because they include breakfast, don't do it. Quick version: The room is gorgeous and the bed is comfy, but the pillows and cases smelled so strongly of chemicals, I felt sick, and we had a hard time solving this problem with them. We didn't even bother with breakfast because it's literally one hour, from 730-830, and that's just crazy talk to me. I'm not waking up at 730 for wheetabix and satsumas when I'm on holiday. Also, doors start slamming about 830 sharp. Upon arrival (around 6:30 pm), there is no lobby or front desk. You have to ring the outside bell and wait. We were greeted by a gentleman that didn't even smile when he asked my name and then said "just one night, right?". Walked us to our room, gave us our key, and left. We walked over to Michelangelo's La Taverna next door, and had a great meal/evening chatting with some folks there. When we came back and got settled, as soon as I hit the pillow, I knew I couldn't sleep with those pillows. The smell of fabric chemicals was so strong, my sinuses started reacting, and I began to feel nauseous. I tried removing the pillow cases, but the pillow protectors and acctual pillows smelled just as strong. My husband took the pillows downstairs to exchange them. That's where his fun began.