Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L

Posted May 21, 2016
We just had a wonderful three night stay at Hedley Hall in a beautifully decorated room. Wonderful scenery! One evening we were even able to see a hedgehog (safely!) cross the country lane leading to Hedley Hall. Wonderful breakfast served in the morning. Highly recommend!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

What a gem!

Posted May 10, 2016
Pros: Everthing, it was so well presented and we were well looked after. Location was stunning.
Cons: My only concern was the lane leading down to the Hotel. Lane..more like a farm track which it used to be, just keep the speed down.
Location: Local pub was excellent. Loads to do including visiting Beamish and Causey Arch to name just a few. Loads to see and do.
Brenda was very welcoming and first impressions were very positive, this carried on throughout the hotel. What an amazing place The room was very well presented and we lacked for nothing. There was tea and coffee and also some fresh fruit in the room. The towels were lovely and soft, in fact there was also a couple of bathrobes to use if you wished. The bed was gorgeous and we both had a wonderful nights sleep. Brenda had some menu's from local pubs and restaurants and she pre booked the table for us too. Meal out was good so well done Brenda, well recommended. Breakfast was a deleight with a good conversation with fellow guests at a leisurely pace. Many thanks for a wonderful stay, we will certainly be returning.
4 out of 5
by Nigel from Somerset

A great b&b but not really a hotel

Posted Apr 25, 2016 on Hotels
This was a great place to stay although we were surprised because it was NOT a hotel and so not what we were expecting. Instead it was a very well appointed b&b. So it didn't have a restaurant or any other facilities you might expect from a hotel. But it was very good none the less
5 out of 5
by Philip from St helens

Posted Mar 23, 2016 on Hotels
Had a very good stay the best house weas what we wanted and more x
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 11, 2016 on Hotels
This was a mistake as I thought this is a 5 star hotel but actually it is a B&B, and locate in a very countryside. I hardly believe my car could drive in due to poor road condition. There is no WiFi in the hotel, so I was hard to Line / Skype with my family and friends. I will never to stay here again, and it should not be 5 star hotel.
5 out of 5
by David from Oxfordshire

Hidden Gem

Posted Feb 28, 2016 on Hotels
Arriving in mid-february the enveloping warmth of Hedley Hall was only exceeded by the friendly greeting of the owner.I was shown up to my room which had an enormous King size bed the modern en suite was equiped with toiletries and large flufffy towels. The room was spotless and spacious with plenty of storage.Tea making facilities and biscuits etc.Breakfasts plenty of choice and perfectly cooked by the owner.I booked here because the Marriott in Newcastle was full.My first choice now is Hedley Hall.
5 out of 5
by Marcelle from south shields

a delightful guest house and very homely .

Posted Feb 17, 2016 on Hotels
absolutely fabulous , Brenda was an amazing host , and very friendly and obliging , nothing was too much trouble for her , the super king size bed was amazing and everything in the room was first class to the coffee and tea making facilities with biscuits and chocolate mints , to the bathrobes in the wardrobe . the bathroom had a power shower and toiletries to use . The breakfast menu was in our room to decide what you would like for breakfast .you could chose you time for breakfast up to 9.30am. we has delicious porridge and a full English breakfast which was cooked to perfection . highly recommended for a return visit .also a lot places to see including Beamish open air Museum .
5 out of 5
by gail from Huddersfield

Great getaway

Posted Dec 9, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely stay, immaculate room. Wonderful breakfast.
5 out of 5
by Gail from Northamptonshire

Little Gem

Posted Nov 18, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely stay. Stayed 3 nights and felt like home from home. the landlady was very helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
by Elaine from Strathaven

Return to hidden gem

Posted Nov 16, 2015 on Hotels
Fabulous 3 night stay with Brenda. Have stayed before and was delighted to return. Have stayed in many places in the area, but this place surpasses them all. Breakfasts superb. Fresh local produce which was cooked to perfection. Nothing a bother.