Ratings based on 769 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northampton, UK

Overpriced

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Air conditioning of bedroom
Overnight parking in the basement car park is scandalously priced at £12. A glass of Belgian Cidre at the hotel lounge bar was equally scandalously priced at £7. The bedroom air conditioning was noisy and ineffective.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Should be specific about the view in the room

Posted Aug 17, 2017
The hotel has a good location but at the moment of making the reservation it doesn't say that regular rooms doesn't have a view. As we request for a lake view, because we wanted to have a view of the millennium brigde (even with the room with the view we cannnot see it, we ask specific for that bridge view) we were placed into a twin room, they told us they will put the beds together in the morning, before we left the room I remember that to the housekeeping, when we arrive to the room beds were the same.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newry

Great view of Tyne bridge

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: Situation
Cons: There was a poor selection of beer and wine, what was there was too dear, £5 for a hot chocolate was ridiculous
Location: Visit Gateshead and Newcastle,
Very nice hotel, breakfast very good, very conveniently situated, bar prices exorbitant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cumbria

Ideal for the Sage at Gateshead

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Over night stay, after A concert at the Sage.we had aroom with a view over the Tyne, an unexpected bonus!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from yorkshire

great Hotel

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: views over the Tyne
Location: we love to go over the high level bridge to Newcastle
I love this hotel. Everything is wonderful, the views, the staff, the ambience,
5 out of 5
by Dane from London

Rat race - the wall

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
stayed for 2 nights following an ultra marathon that finished near the hotel. The hotel was excellently located, everything was if a high standard. lovely views across the Tyne to Newcastle. Would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
by David

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
Free upgrade
5 out of 5
by Robert

Great hotel, great location, great view

Posted Jun 8, 2017 on Hotels
I stayed at this hotel for a conference. It has everything you need for a good conference, plus great views over the river to Newcastle.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thirsk

Near to The Sage

Posted May 23, 2017
As we are getting on......the convenience to the Sage was brilliant