Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely old building ...but...

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: Lovely historic building , very nice common areas grounds beside and behind are charming Breakfast room and library bar very nice nicely furnished
Cons: Sheets and bedding were very strange, Hotel at the prices charged should have proper hvac in rooms especially new building Breakfast was average
Location: Seemed to be a residential neighbourhood. We were visiting friends so not really much to say about location
Check in was brisk. Room location request was not providide even though an attempt was made to appease us, our second room was an over the top handicap room with a hospital style bathhroom, not very nice for us. Breakfast buffet was not refreshed so if you came a bit later even though still an hour or so left in time there was not much left to take. Bedding was not nice sheets but a course duvet cover and pillow shams made of the same scatchy cotton. Turn down service happend one noght but not both... Staff were rather kurt, friendly but not overly, except in the evening lounge service, very pleasant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yarm

Celebration of being together

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: So comfortable and luxurious
Cons: Nothing
Location: Ideally situated for shopping in Newcastle and eating and drinking in Jesmond
We chose to be somewhere special to celebrate our time together. The hotel hit all the right areas for comfort luxury and warmth. Enjoyed so much that we are returning early in December to finalise our Christmas shopping.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stanmore

Being in the country yet in the city

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: Grounds near to Jesmond Dene and breakfast.
Cons: Nothing really. Tissues and toilet paper were low when arrived but requested more through reception.
Location: 2 minute walk from waterfalls in Jesmond Dene. Unique being based in a beauty spot yet the bustle of Newcastle and Jesmond only a short taxi ride awa
Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Beautiful grounds and hotel. One of the best hotel breakfasts I have ever had.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Edles Manorhouse

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Edles Privathaus eines Lords und Industriellen im vorletzten Jahrhundert. Es wurde in ein tolles Hotel umgewandelt, die Zimmer im modernen Stil, die Aufenthaltsräume, Bar etc. in altehrwürdigen, eichengetäfeltem Stil mit großen offenen Kaminen. Man sollte auf keinen Fall sich ein Dinner im Hotel entgehen lassen, exzellente Küche. Hervorragende Betten. Das Personal ist sehr zuvorkommend und freundlich. Wir überlegen in der Winterzeit nur des Hotels wegen noch einmal dort hinzureisen.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sussex

Green oasis, brilliant hotel

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Brilliant hotel in a great location but it is the staff who are the gems. Helpful, happy and welcoming. Good was excellent and Jackie who looked after our private dining for 15 was the best. Thanks
4 out of 5
by John from North Tyneside

A little gem.

Posted Mar 8, 2016 on Hotels
My wife and I had a lovely overnight stay. We were in the "New House" annexe, our room was large, clean and comfortable. The restaurant is excellent, (bit pricey but - go on treat yourself is the kind of attitude you need) service was spot on. The hotel is in wonderful surroundings and we walked along Jesmond Dene twice, it is a fabulous place, even in March.
5 out of 5
by Nigel from Chicago

Great experience - will come again

Posted Feb 11, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel was simply superb. I have stayed in lot of places over the years but I have never experienced such great quality of service and simple friendliness - and it goes right the way through the hotel from reception to bar to breakfast staff. It is a delightful building - not a modern hotel with ample parking in a quite area and a very good restaurant. We chose to eat at the bar as we were jet-lagged and just wanted a quick bite. It was good food, reasonably priced and with very good service. Breakfast is well worth ordering - great value and good food. You would not get this kind of food and service at one of the big hotel chains at twice the price. If I had to chose a quibble it would be the room as a little on the tight side for a double.
5 out of 5
by Jane from Stockton on Tees

Posted Jan 5, 2016 on Hotels
A truly characteristic hotel; perfect for a romantic weekend away.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 26, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel, fabulous manor house feel to it. Staff are friendly and can do.
4 out of 5
by Paul from Cheshire

An oasis of calm

Posted Dec 16, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed at the Jedmond Dene House for one night - a treat for my wife's birthday, and as a stopover for our son's graduation ceremony the following day. The standard room was delightful, and we appreciated the fruit bowl, mince pies and freshly ground coffee. Our only gripe was the bathroom - I needed a sense of humour- in order to use the loo (wall hung and about 100mm lower than a standard loo - why?) it was necessary to thread ones self underneath the adjacent hand basin! I also found it bizarre to be stood looking down on the fixed shower head - at 6' 3" I can only assume the plumber was perhaps somewhat shorter as there was no shortage of ceiling height. We ate elsewhere that night, but based on previous experience we would have no hesitation dining here. There were numerous seasonal events taking place when we returned, but they were well muted and seemed to finish around 11pm. We heard nothing of them in any event, and a really comfortable bed, and near silent neighbourhood, contributed to very restful sleep. Courteous and attentive staff served a plentiful and delicious breakfast in the dining room which looks out towards the Dene. Sorry we had such little time there, but we'll be back! Having stayed at numerous hotels in Jesmond, I can say this is by far the best.