Ratings based on 267 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester uk

centrally located

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: Easy check in and out, friendly staff. Centrally located.
Cons: An additional coffee/tea machine at breakfast would be handy.
Location: Easy reach of shopping and entertainment facilities
2minutes walk from station. Good hearty breakfast available, although I found the restaurant somewhat drab. Only one coffee/tea machine available, makeing it a bit of a pain trying to get a hot drink with breakfast. A shelter of some description for those who choose to smoke, would be nice as I was asked to move from the entrance stairs which was the only area that afoarded any protection from the weather.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dundee

Room was Freezing

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Everything else but not the room.
Cons: Making sure Rooms are warm and comfortable for guests to arrive in.
Location: 7/8 mins walk from Train Station.
Me and my son arrived at 9pm and when we entered the room the window was open on one of the coldest nights so far this winter. I closed it and turned the radiator from 0 (why would it be set at zero ?) to 5 , i thought the room would soon warm up... I was wrong..The radiator wasn't even slightly warm after an hour, but by this time my son was under the covers to keep warm and was now fast asleep. I did the same and we both woke up with Chills and a cough which we both still have.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York

Nice hotel and central

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Close to the railway station and easy walking distance to the center and port area .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Check in area and downstairs lovely and modern. Shame the rooms didn't match. Very outdated. Small uncomfortable beds and thin walls and lots of noise from drunken loud guests in hallways at 4am. Will stick with Premier Inns in future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northumberland

Great value/location

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Check in was good and room on sixth floor comfy and quiet.IThis was a great stay only marred by the breakfast experience.We went down for brekkie about 9.35am (it finished at 10am) There were queues of follk waiting for top ups on food and we had to ask the staff for cutlery, plates etc. The food was nice once we eventually got it and staff pleasant but it was a shame as it stopped me giving a perfect scoring in this review. The hotel needs a staff member purely focussed on topping up food BEFORE it runs out at busy times.It wouldnt stop me booking again i just hope Jurys picks this up for future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Good breakfast, clean and comfortable rooms. Great location
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central to all local facility's

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Excellent hotel would highly recommend. Friendly staff emasculated. Will be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel but..

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: Customer service
Cons: Heating
Good hotel but rooms are cold in winter. Radiators create limited heat and guest cannot adjust completely. In rooms with multiple windows, this means the room are cold. The hotel responded admirably; but there was little that could be done.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely place to stay.

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Location: Really close to the station and centre of town.
Lovely hotel with excellent facilities. Everything was clean and good quality. Staff were very friendly and efficient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Consett

Handy for a party in Newcastle

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Beds were comfortable, staff were efficient and pleasant, breakfast was lovely but could have been warmer.