Ratings based on 124 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Handy for both Gateshead and Newcastle

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Brilliant staff make this Hotel, but other guests ruin it by loud, drunken and disrespectful behaviour. I know people are there for hen nights but at 03.30 am they could respect other guests who pay the same as they do. Maybe a few signs or night manager being a little more proactive
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2017 by Gayle, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write your valued review. I'm glad you found us to be in a good location for you. I apologise you experienced noise during your stay and will action this issue with the Night Reception team. It is my hope you will give us another opportunity next time you visit the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel modern and very clean

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: Good location short taxi ride into Newcastle . Very good price .
Cons: Nothing it is a good standard budget hotel
Location: Near to the Tyne Bridge , and the Millenium Bridge,
Very comfortable bed .laminate floor in bedroom which was so fresh and clean. Modern toilet with walk in shower. Had a good nights sleep , could not hear any traffic noise at all. Would use this hotel again , evening meal was good as well .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location for Newcastle & Gateshead quay

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Very busy hotel but staff very helpful, disabled accessibility for electric wheelchairs is very good and roll in shower very well equipped with plenty of space but bedroom was a little bit sparse on furniture and cold feeling, but I wish other hotels had same showers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2017 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your lovely review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, shame about the childish antics!

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: The staff were really helpful, the washing facility did a great job and the room was a great size. Good clean bathroom. Easy to use shower.
Cons: Banging of doors when guests have a disregard to others sleeping perhaps could be looked at. The doors are very heavy and close with a bang.
Location: Restaurant 6 great food & amazing view and you can just go up for a drink or to the floor below. The Sage venue & Millennium bridge v close!
A few nights in Newcastle after a very relaxing time in Northumberland. Around the hotel was a bit of a building site, but barring on first arrival this was not a huge issue. Lovely room and great location was only marred by some very silly behaviour by guests running along corridors and up and down stairs. Not something the hotel could do anything about sadly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by Helen Parker, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely review of the hotel. I am sorry your experience was marred by the behaviour of other guests. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to the city when we can hopefully improve on this experience. Kind Regards Helen Parker Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DG Ontario Canada

Good location

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Hotel is convenient for its location being close to the students accommodations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Northants

Just a one night stopover,

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: The cleanliness, facilities for disabled people, and most of all the staff, they were brilliant
Cons: Air con in the rooms (and how to cook chips)
Location: The quayside is easy to get to, with a wheel chair just use the ramps. and it is a nice walk along both sides of the river,
Initial impression was really good, being a wheel chair user, automatic doors are a bonus, couldn't fault the staff on reception, the room was perfect for a disabled person, only drawback was the traffic noise it was murder. had to smile at the poor barman , it was obviously new to him and you would have thought somebody would have shown him how to pour a beer , but never mind we all had to learn at sometime or another. The food, , the prawn starter was perfection in itself, the fish was perfect as well just couldn't work out what was on the plate described as chips, but the peas were nice, breakfast was nice, only thing that would have improved it was some mushrooms, but at least everything was hot. Can't fault the hotel on cleanliness, staff and facilities ,just the chips and the window in room 101 that you can't shut The room was perfect so much room ,could have done wheelie's in it. television reception was rubbish ,but that is usual in hotels. the bathroom had everything that a disabled person needs, they really got that right. the only improvement I would make for the room is Aircon but that might be asking a bit much. it is a nice hotel and we would stay there again but only if they can get the chips right.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel, needs new bed

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Good location, very near to Sage theatre, staff very helpful, they extended our check out to 4pm because I was ill. Room was spacious & the shower excellent. Not so good: the bed was very noisy, needs replacing, every time one moved the noise from the mattress woke one up! The breakfast was inferior to a premier Inn one but was more expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SCOTLAND

Short Break

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: Staff, bed, cleanliness, location..
Cons: Because of the large size of the room,it did look a little bare, with not a lot of furniture etc. It was a little clinical but comfortable and clean.
Location: Personally, I like the location as it's a short walk from the river and town, but far enough away to have no noise issues.
The hotel is in an excellent position a short walk into town. It was reasonably priced and I was more than happy with the condition and cleanliness of my allocated room. The room was large and could easily have fitted in a second King sized bed! The bed was large and comfortable.The staff I encountered were first class; professional, courteous and extremely helpful. I would definitely consider staying in this Ramada again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2016 by Helen Parker, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely review of the hotel. I am pleased we were able to provide you with a pleasurable stay and hope to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to the city
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Basic hotel quite a long way from everything

Posted Jun 13, 2016
I found this hotel room very basic. There were no personal amenities in the bathroom. Even the shampoo and body wash was a combined solution and was bolted to the shower wall. There was no carpet, or cupboard in the room, only hooks on the wall. The bed and pillows were comfortable and it was clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2016 by Helen Parker, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write your valued review. I apologise that your experience was less than satisfactory and you felt the lack of complimentary extras in the room to be a let down. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. Kind Regards Helen Parker Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Teesside

Walkable into city centre - about 15 mins

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Pros: Walking distance into the city centre (15 mins)
Cons: Reception staff didn't explain our room was for disabled visitors - we weren't disabled and it would have been useful if they'd asked if this was ok..
Location: A lot of building / road works going on around the hotel - which detracted. our window view was over a derelict building. 15 mins walk into the city
Parking available at £5 a day. Still a lot of building going on around the hotel - next to a derelict building when we stayed. Useful for walking into centre, spacious rooms and good facilities.