Ratings based on 246 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Central hotel, clean and comfy

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Great location and a friendly welcome. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. One thing spoilt it: the shower was a trickle and when mentioned at reception "thank you for letting us know" was the resolve. Otherwise, great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Great location

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Location, Staff, gym & fridge freebies
Location: City centre, all the shops & restaurants you would need Very close to train station so great for arrival into station, car rental centre (Avis) close
Arrived by train so location is ideal, the room i was in this time was quite a bit noisy the first night. I understand the noise from the train station as that's to be expected but this was something else and wasnt present on subsequent nights (maybe some maintenence going on?) I like the gym (although fitness suite is limited & 1 rower wasnt working which is kit i like to use) Nothing major though as i have used the hotel a few times i've never encountered equipment faults in the gym before so i know its not a regular thing Staff are wonderful, so helpful and rooms are good but based on the price I would actually rate them as extremely good compared to other rooms i have stayed in for a similar price Free drinks & stacks in room fridge are a lovely touch
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from carruthers

Great night away

Posted Jan 17, 2017
We arrived at the hotel the staff were fantastic in everyway very helpful and polite we went up to our room which was room 123 it was a 4 poster bed with wine on the table and box of chocs to the mini bar had water and orange juice in it aswel the room was very clean and spacious the hotel is ideal location right in the centre of Newcastle for a good night out it has a spa and sauna and pool which was included in the price and a gym we had a good night there the receptionist Carol made our stay very good indeed so we have booked another 2 weekends away this year at the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel next to the station.

Posted Jan 7, 2017
What more can I say but it was a very pleasant stay at the Royal Station. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, the room was very comfortable and the room served its purpose. The complimentary water and juice in the minibar was a nice touch. Only two things I have to mention: be aware that there are stairs into the entry (there is an accessible entry via the car park) and the car park has limited first come/first serve spaces so keep that in mind. It was a lovely stay and I will stay here again during my next trip to Newcastle.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid if you need to park a car.

Posted Jan 3, 2017
The Royal Station Hotel might look good in the photographs, but in reality it is looking a bit tired and in need of a refurbishment. The single room I stayed in was clean and comfortable, with a mini fridge, kettle, steam iron and ironing board, but there were three things that spoilt my stay. The first was that the fire alarm went off twice in the early hours for no reason. The second was the noisy behaviour of several guests, again in the early hours, with no intervention by any hotel staff. But by far the main reason why I will not use the hotel again was the ridiculously small, cramped car park. The hotel only has spaces for a fraction of their guests, so arriving back at the hotel every night was a complete lottery as to whether I would be able to park my car securely or have to leave it in distant side streets and walk back to the hotel. This was made all the more annoying because at the time of writing, the 'car park' was a hotch potch of old, faded yellow and white painted bays, each colour indicating a different parking angle. Many of the guests during my stay complained about the very poor, totally confusing parking arrangements. To leave the hotel car park, you have to pass through the main rail station long stay car park, which lets you transit through the barriers for free within 20 minutes, but costs £16 per night if you can't get a hotel space and need to ensure your vehicle is safe. That is a massive hidden expense if you are staying for several nights.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hexham

Very disappointed in the service and inflexibility

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Didn't stay so cant say
Cons: Service
Location: N/Applicable
Due to circumstance I asked the Hotel if I could change the booking from Saturday to Friday night of the 16th. They advised as the booking was non refundable and fixed they couldn't and I had to go through Expedia but they had vacancies for the Friday. I duly contacted Expedia and they in turn contacted ( I believe Charlotte ) , the hotel and talked to the same lady I had spoken to minutes earlier and they were told no I couldn't change. This was not expected as I had been advised if I went through Expedia the intimation was it could have ben changed. I couldn't use the room and lost out £103.00 because of inflexibility despite the option being there and following the advice provided. Very disappointed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D

Close to transit, but lots of noise!

Posted Dec 11, 2016
The hotel is nice (Comfortable beds and beautiful, historical decor) and close to trains/metro, but this makes it fairly noisy- even on the opposite side (pub noise). Bring ear plugs! Also don't be deceived by the elevator, there are several steps up to the main lobby, and between split levels on the floors. Only when we left did a gentleman from reception offer to help us down with our suitcases. He was polite, but the female staff at the desk were rude. Wifi is sporadic. Good for a short stay of convienience, not longer!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Just few minutes to central station. Nice place but the bed is too soft and cannot sleep well. It makes me back pain. Perhaps they can work on the soundproof in long run too - being close to the station is nice, but it also means it tends to be quite noisy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from southport

Geordie centre

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: Its position in centre of the City
Cons: Bit of room decorating.
Location: Shops, museums, market Cathedrals
There is a touch of faded grandeur but more than compensated by pleasant and friendly staff. Right in centre of the City. Lots to do and an amazing number of eateries.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

City centre hotel

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, nice restaurant, beautiful entrance hall.
Cons: Lifts that go all the way up!
Location: Near the railway station and city centre shops. As we were only there for one night, we didn't look for other things to do.
The staff were friendly and helpful. However there were areas where the hotel looked in need of updating and a bit of TLC! In particular, on being allocated a room on the 4th floor, we were surprised to find, while the lift went up to the 4th floor, we still had to climb 3 flights of stairs to our room, which was actually on floor 5 or 6, although designated floor 4! This was not mentioned at check-in, and could have been a problem to anyone less able than ourselves.