Ratings based on 310 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from barrow in furness

2 night stay

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Onsite parking, very nice rooms, great staff and great location
Cons: Nothing
Location: In the middle between town and the quayside, great location
What a fantastic find, we have stopped in a few hotels in Newcastle but this one is definitely the best hotel we have stayed in, it's in a great location, a short walk into town and a short walk down to the quayside, very easy to find and onsite parking. Check in was very quick and efficient, check in staff very friendly and helpful, the suite we were given was very clean, spacious, kitchen area had everything you needed and more, bedroom area was great, bed was huge and very comfortable, bathroom was spotless and a great shower, free coffee down stairs is a great touch, there is a little onsite shop that sells everything you need or for anything you have forgotten, complimentary breakfast is great, plenty of choice and all fresh. Had a great 2 days, The thing that makes the Staybridge stand out from the rest is the staff, every single one we met during our stay were really friendly and helpful, in fact they could not do enough for you, they went out of their way to make your stay pleasurable, I really can't fault the hotel, the suite or the staff. We will definitely not stop anywhere else now we have stayed here Thank you for a great stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Regina SK

Nice hotel with easy access to waterfront.

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: Reasonable parking rate, 24 hour coffee and tea available at no charge, spacious suites.
Cons: The carpets need to be cleaned
Location: Easy access to the waterfront and bridge with lots of restaurants etc.
We booked this hotel through Expedia and were given a "handicapped accessible" room, which was unnecessay and inconvenient for us. The bathroom was totally unsuitable. In addition, although the room itself was very clean with the possible exception of the carpets, there was a horrible odor that was like burning engine oil, and the windows did not open. We questioned the front desk as to why we had an accessible room, and they advised that was what we booked. They could not move us because the hotel was full, so for all of these reasons I cannot give this hotel a higher rating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Unbelievable so outstanding

Posted Feb 20, 2017
First time ever to stay here, usually a Travelodge person as cheapest but turned out you can get pure luxury for less at certain times, we will never step to another place again already booked for family again..Awesome staff so friendly the pure luxury amazing and the relaxed homely atmosphere was lush .Definitely definitely be back myself very soon to as I'm a regular to Newcastle. Thanks everyone
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Darlington

Nice hotel close to town centre but not too close

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Pros: Good location for what we wanted.
Cons: The breakfast the first day was good, but the second did not live up to the first day.
Location: As noted earlier easy to get to places but sleeping in a quiet location
We enjoyed our 2night stay walking into town about 12 minutes and to the Quayside about 4 minutes, we did one each day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malta

Exceptional and central hotel

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: Everything. Staff are polite. Rooms are comfortable, clean and quiet. Breakfast was very good. Location is central; close to metro and shops
Cons: I could not think of anything at all, honestly.
Location: Shopping, metro close by, sightseeing, supermarket a few metres down the road.
This is a great place to stay in if you are going to Newcastle for any reason. We travelled as a couple, but it is ideal for anyone. Hotel was clean, quiet and close to the metro station and only 1KM away (15min walk) from all the shops in Newcastle in Northumberland Street. Staff are all extremely kind and helpful, especially Jason who made our trip a memorable one with his charisma and warm welcoming feeling. There are complimentary coffees, teas, hot choclate and water any time of the day in the breakfast area, and in the room you can also self-cater and cook food you buy, and all equipment (microwave, sink, dishwasher, plates, glasses, etc) are provided. You can also buy food from the pantry in the hotel itself if you don't feel like going out. TV is large as well, stations were just fine with a great selection. Room was always attended to when we wanted it to be and was always clean and made up for us. We also had a great view of the bridge which was lovely, especially at night when its colourful. I would 110% recommend this cosy hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location and friendly

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Good location near to Quayside. Friendly helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Doncaster, S. Yorks

Excellent Hotel near City Centre

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: Staff & facilities.
Cons: Breakfast sausages were a bit naff.
This stay was most enjoyable. The reception staff were friendly and helpful at all times, which really makes a difference. The room was clean, tidy & comfortable - just what you need without being over fussy. The hotel is well maintained and feels homely. I like the fact that it is a short walk into the city centre and is also handy for the University of Northumbria and the waterfront entertainment area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
In a quiet neighborhood. Excellent service by the staff. However, for corporate property, the WiFi both in my hotel room and the one "public area" computer was absolutely unacceptable--unsecured and as slow as the old dial-up service. I asked the desk staff about it and they said that was the way it was. The hotel does not offer maid service on Saturday or Sunday unless you request it.