Ratings based on 314 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canton, TX

Great Hotel!

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Great staff! Big, modern rooms!
Cons: Everything was great!
Location: We really didn't walk around the area much so I can't comment. We did order in Pizza from Domino's and it came promptly.
After walking the full Hadrian's Wall Path, this hotel was just what we needed! The building is modern, well appointed, and very clean! The reception staff was top notch and very friendly. Our room looked new. It was very clean and quite large. The bathroom was really big and the shower was oversized. The hotel even had a guest laundry that I used to wash a few of our hiking clothes. Everything was great! I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be back if we ever visit Newcastle again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Leeds, UK

Lovely new hotel with spacious rooms.

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: New and clean, very friendly and helpful staff, great facilities. There is even a gym and launderette although we didn't use them.
Cons: The keys seemed to stop working almost everyday of our stay even when not kept near other cards, phones or keys as suggested. More hot breakfast.
Location: Great location; 10-15mins walk to city centre, Manors metro station nearby. In opposite direction is 10-15mins walk to large Morrisons & Gala Bingo
Comfortable king size bed Large spacious room with recliner sofa Large en-suite bathroom with amazing shower Fitted wardrobe with hangers and free small safe Kitchenette with fridge & big icebox (fit 2 bottles of wine and more), kettle, toaster, microwave, sink, dishwasher Ample plates, glasses, cups, knives, even tea towels provided! Large flat screen TV (I did have to ask how to work it as I couldn't get off the hotel info pages); ability to plug in USB drive to TV and I also took my small DVD player, which worked a charm (some hotels block the HDMI channel, so this was a welcome option). Free breakfast between 6.30 and 9.30am weekdays and 7.30 to 10.30 weekends (we arrived on the Thursday evening and on check-in were given the weekend times, so only just made breakfast at 9.30 on the Friday before they started clearing everything away!). Hot breakfast options available which was a welcome surprise as not expected; there was not much left when we came down on the Saturday, so it's probably pot luck whether you get any of this or not. There is also a tray in your room you can take down and fill with breakfast stuff to take back to your room which I thought was nice if you prefer to have breakfast in private. A fuse blew in our kitchen caused by the kettle; this was dealt with straight away by a really friendly member of staff and the kettle replaced. My only gripe with this place is that our keys stopped working multiple times and I had to queue at reception each time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from barrow in furness

2 night stay

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Onsite parking, very nice rooms, great staff and great location
Cons: Nothing
Location: In the middle between town and the quayside, great location
What a fantastic find, we have stopped in a few hotels in Newcastle but this one is definitely the best hotel we have stayed in, it's in a great location, a short walk into town and a short walk down to the quayside, very easy to find and onsite parking. Check in was very quick and efficient, check in staff very friendly and helpful, the suite we were given was very clean, spacious, kitchen area had everything you needed and more, bedroom area was great, bed was huge and very comfortable, bathroom was spotless and a great shower, free coffee down stairs is a great touch, there is a little onsite shop that sells everything you need or for anything you have forgotten, complimentary breakfast is great, plenty of choice and all fresh. Had a great 2 days, The thing that makes the Staybridge stand out from the rest is the staff, every single one we met during our stay were really friendly and helpful, in fact they could not do enough for you, they went out of their way to make your stay pleasurable, I really can't fault the hotel, the suite or the staff. We will definitely not stop anywhere else now we have stayed here Thank you for a great stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Regina SK

Nice hotel with easy access to waterfront.

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: Reasonable parking rate, 24 hour coffee and tea available at no charge, spacious suites.
Cons: The carpets need to be cleaned
Location: Easy access to the waterfront and bridge with lots of restaurants etc.
We booked this hotel through Expedia and were given a "handicapped accessible" room, which was unnecessay and inconvenient for us. The bathroom was totally unsuitable. In addition, although the room itself was very clean with the possible exception of the carpets, there was a horrible odor that was like burning engine oil, and the windows did not open. We questioned the front desk as to why we had an accessible room, and they advised that was what we booked. They could not move us because the hotel was full, so for all of these reasons I cannot give this hotel a higher rating.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay with space to move!

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
Really good, service brilliant and accommodation perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Unbelievable so outstanding

Posted Feb 20, 2017
First time ever to stay here, usually a Travelodge person as cheapest but turned out you can get pure luxury for less at certain times, we will never step to another place again already booked for family again..Awesome staff so friendly the pure luxury amazing and the relaxed homely atmosphere was lush .Definitely definitely be back myself very soon to as I'm a regular to Newcastle. Thanks everyone
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent long weekend

Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Hotels
Our Staybridge suite was a great base for a long winter weekend exploring Newcastle. We had a splendid view of the river Tyne, including the Millennium and other bridges and the Sage concert halls and the Baltic gallery on the other side. It was easy to walk to the Quayside and then across the river or into the city along Melbourne Street, with only one major roundabout to cross via a well-lit pedestrian route. We enjoyed the breakfasts with a wide choice of items and the facilities of our suite made it easy to prepare other food when we wanted to eat in or make a picnic. All the staff were very helpful and pleasant. The car park was well laid out with reasonably wide parking bays. The main problem of our stay was that we could not read the numbers on the barrier to enter and exit. Once reported, the staff assured us that new controls were being ordered. All in all, a friendly comfortable venue for a cold winter weekend in Newcastle, and would be even better in warmer weather.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Darlington

Nice hotel close to town centre but not too close

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Pros: Good location for what we wanted.
Cons: The breakfast the first day was good, but the second did not live up to the first day.
Location: As noted earlier easy to get to places but sleeping in a quiet location
We enjoyed our 2night stay walking into town about 12 minutes and to the Quayside about 4 minutes, we did one each day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malta

Exceptional and central hotel

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: Everything. Staff are polite. Rooms are comfortable, clean and quiet. Breakfast was very good. Location is central; close to metro and shops
Cons: I could not think of anything at all, honestly.
Location: Shopping, metro close by, sightseeing, supermarket a few metres down the road.
This is a great place to stay in if you are going to Newcastle for any reason. We travelled as a couple, but it is ideal for anyone. Hotel was clean, quiet and close to the metro station and only 1KM away (15min walk) from all the shops in Newcastle in Northumberland Street. Staff are all extremely kind and helpful, especially Jason who made our trip a memorable one with his charisma and warm welcoming feeling. There are complimentary coffees, teas, hot choclate and water any time of the day in the breakfast area, and in the room you can also self-cater and cook food you buy, and all equipment (microwave, sink, dishwasher, plates, glasses, etc) are provided. You can also buy food from the pantry in the hotel itself if you don't feel like going out. TV is large as well, stations were just fine with a great selection. Room was always attended to when we wanted it to be and was always clean and made up for us. We also had a great view of the bridge which was lovely, especially at night when its colourful. I would 110% recommend this cosy hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location and friendly

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Good location near to Quayside. Friendly helpful staff.