Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Good hotel location for City and Arena

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Mini Bar - good choice Parking staff Decor Historical buildings around hotel
Cons: Air con Sound proofing in rooms near the bar under hotel
Location: Excellent location for shopping, theatres, dining and the Arena and lots of history in surrounding area
This hotel is in an excellent location for the city, shopping and the Metro Arena, which is why we chose it, on arrival the car park was full but the staff organised a space for us immediately , the main gentleman on those duties was lovely throughout our stay, and very helpful, the hotel is nicely designed and clean, I do have a couple of issues, the room was ver hot and the window only opened a little, was a Dyson fan but we were still too hot, also we booked a river view room but I couldn't see the river, the fire alarm went off briefly twice at 1-2am,when we enquired we were told it was a technical fault but the staff were running around closing fire doors, there is also a pub directly underneath the hotel which was clearly heard in our room (817) both the loud music and noise of the people shouting etc went on until 3am ish and there were car horns beeping throughout, I am easy going and it was Sat night in a city but I can imagine this would not suit a lot of people trying to get a good nights rest , breakfast was adequate also but my partner did find a black hair in his at the end, he has a shaved head so not sure whose that was, but these things happen, all in all it was a good stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

In need of upgrade, not very spa-like.

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: Comfortable bed
Cons: decor; first impression walking into hotel (not playing disco music with a dark room and neon lights in the adjacent dining area); upgrade rooms/halls
I felt like I walked into a totally different hotel than what I imagined I booked. I was happy that I was only there for one night. I will say that the staff upgraded my room once my disappointment was apparent. That was very nice and made it a bit more pleasant. I went from a very dim looking flat with a view of a brick wall; to a room with high ceiling looking at the ocean. Both rooms need work; but at least the upgrade had some natural light and lightened the mood.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: Lovely hotel very friendly staff could not do enough for us
Cons: All was good nothing wrong with hotel Staff very helpful
Location: Great location for everything
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wellington, New Zealand

City centre hotel that needs to raise its game

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Great first impression. The hotel is set within an impressive old building that has rather grand reception, dining and bar areas. Sadly, the rooms don't quite match this standard. Fixtures and fittings are a little tired and amenities are lacking for a hotel classed as four star. Also, be aware that the hotel can be noisy at weekends so a higher floor is to be preferred. The staff are friendly but this couldn't make up for disastrous service at breakfast time! A "mix up" in the kitchen meant that our breakfast failed to appear on the second morning of our stay - how can bacon and eggs and porridge cause such difficulty? Overall, this hotel has potential but will never be rated highly until it upgrades rooms and sorts out its restaurant
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

All pomp..

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Arrived a little after check in, to a full car park. This wasn't a problem for the valet who took our car to the overflow car park, after waiting in line to check in - amongst the afternoon tea gang in a reception/ tea room area which is a wonderful, beautiful space and heightened my excitement to see our riverside suite. £250 lighter we found ourselves at the two lifts, ten minutes later we were still there finally getting to our tenth floor suite I opened the door with baited breath and... total disappointment! I think my exact words were "they have valets, for this" fortunately I have had the pleasure of staying at a few luxury hotels and it was obvious to me this hotel in my opinion is all pomp and no substance. The riverside suite is extremely dated, tartan carpet throughout chipped marble, leaky taps, in the bathroom and the sofa in the "living area" has certainly seen better days. I expected more than a sofa with suspicious stains, a lamp and a table. Luckily after our night out I wasn't in the frame of mind to care about the nightclub pumping it's music out or how comfortable my room was and fell straight to sleep. I woke at five tossed and turned, fought with the water pressure in the bathroom and decided I would not have breakfast but go home to my bathroom jump into my slipper bath and have the luxurious experience I expected from this suite!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wilmslow

our stay at The Vermont

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Perfect location , staff friendly. We were very happy here . The rooms were smaller than I expected but they were well equipped and very comfortable . Would def stay here again !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Newcastle Stay

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Just an overnight stay but it could not have been better, room, staff and excellent breakfast thanks to all
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central location weekend stay

Posted Jul 4, 2016
I thought the hotel itself was excellent however the price for 1night with breakfast wasn't worth it the rooms were ok no wow factor. I paid £189.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location in the city centre

Posted Jun 1, 2016
The staff we very friendly and the river view room was girgeous
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Very nice hotel with free parking

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Pros: How quiet the room was allowing us a good night's sleep.
Cons: Having a room safe and a shower matt.
Location: Close to town and the Metro Arena.
On our arrival the staff were very attentive and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. the room was clean and tidy and had all the usual items you would expect hair dryer, etc except a room safe. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet which allowed us to have a good night's sleep. The bathroom was clean and tidy but it would have benefited from a shower Matt as the narrow enamel bath was quite precarious to stand up in with wet feet. Overall I would recommend this hotel as we both enjoyed our stay.