Ratings based on 123 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Lovely hotel situated close to the Quayside.

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Pros: Close to the Quayside and not far from the City centre. Comfortable hotel with very helpful staff.
Cons: possibly extra towel hooks or rail in the shower room/toilet
Location: Close to the Attractions of the Quayside and a walk over the bridges to the Baltic and Sage. The Castle is just up the hill with the City beyond.
On entering the Reception area we were welcomed by a very helpful receptionist which was repeated by all the staff throughout our stay. Always taking time to make us feel welcome. There was a wide choice of breakfast's available and the full English breakfast was well worth the money. The rooms were kept clean and the beds were very comfortable. There was very little noise at night considering it was a popular area. Overall we found the Hotel very good value and will definitely stay there again in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

nice friendly place to stay.

Posted May 17, 2016
Cheap, clean and cheerful. Perfectly located for my requirements. Thanks.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quayside Beauty

Posted May 5, 2016 on Hotels
Just wonderful
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2016 by Tracy Caithness, Hotel Management
It always great to see positive feedback from our guests and id like to take this chance to thank you for taking the time out to leave this review. Take care and hopefully we will see you again in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from leeds

Toilet was broke in room, staff could not fix it.

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Compensation was given by means of free breakfast. However despite the staff being very helpful you expect better
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2016 by Haley, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback Steve, I dealt with your check-in and such a pleasant guest you were. I apologise profusely about the issue you had with the toilet seat broken and can only hope this won’t deter you from booking with us again if you’re ever in Newcastle, once again we will throw in a free breakfast for you as a token of our apology.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very freindly, helpful ,welcoming staff.

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: recomended by another staff member
Cons: funiture was a little dated but it is sturdy and fully functunal room clean and bright
Location: its a hop skip and jump from the town centre and ther are some lovely places to eat. it has stunning views
This was the first time I have been away from my family for more than an over night and the first time I have been away on my own. I was in newcastle for a training course as I had only ever been shopping in newcastle before and I was unsure of my surroundings. The staff were helpful and very supportive it would have been nice to have a meal within the hotel as I was on my own but there are loads of lovely places to eat within a five minute walk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2016 by Haley, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us this review and I am glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us. I will be passing your comments about the decor on to our head office as we see all feedback as positive. Take care and hope to see you again in the future.
4 out of 5
by Ian from Huddersfield

Our stay in Gateshead

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
The stay was very pleasant. we have stayed here several times before. only issues were that the bed was not very comfortable and some people in a nearby room were very noisy between 4am and 5.15am. i did consider ringing reception but decided against it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016 by Tracy Caithness, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving feedback Ian as we always appreciate it, especially from our returning guests. I am so sorry that you were disturbed by other guests and only wish you had called down to reception as i can assure you this would of been dealt with immediately. I hope this has not deterred you from staying with us in the future and I will pass on your comments to head office regarding the bed. Take care Ian and hope to see you again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Economic but not good enough

Posted Mar 27, 2016
Most things are good, but the staffs in the room are old except the toilet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2016 by Tracy, Assistant manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback and if you ever come back to the city again, we will offer you our best rates and even throw in a free breakfast for all on us!
5 out of 5
by Nicola

Posted Mar 10, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2016 by Tracy Caithness, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your feedback Nicola, hopefully we will see you again in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 26, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel but breakfast and parking not included as advertised.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2016 by Tracy Caithness, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your 5 star feedback, hopefully you come visit us again.
3 out of 5
by John from Bournemouth

Fantastic staff but.........

Posted Jan 27, 2016 on Hotels
For the cost (£80) the hotel was poor. The single room was small, the bed not the best and the bathroom was dark. Even had to pay extra for breakfast although it was on sale at £5.95 instead of £7.95! The saving grace was the staff and the three I came into contact with were brilliant.