Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Our stay, Aug, 2016

Posted Aug 23, 2016
The room was small with a small double bed, there was no phone signal and the wifi was poor.. Also the windows didn't open. The floor was unstable and I didn't feel very safe walking over it. However the staff were very warm and welcoming and more than happy to help with everything needed. The food both at breakfast and dinner was just lovely.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maine, USA

Hotel stay

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Location, friendliness.
Location: Meet towns people. Hermitage castle. Elliott and Armstrong geneology.
Tom, the manager, will go far out of his way to assist and accommodate all your needs. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
by Bob

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire

Perfect hosts who really look after their guests

Posted Sep 6, 2015
Pros: Staff who focus on guest needs and will go out of their way to ensure a good stay.
Cons: Nothing - the Liddesdale is good value, spotless and comfortable - and a credit to the staff.
Location: Kielder forest, Newcastleton Forest - great mountain biking. Kielder observatory - sky watching. Hiking.
We arrived after food was finished being but Tomas our host arranged for us to have a meal from what they could rustle up on the spot - and it was absolutely delicious. Spiced chicken and pasta. We also had an early start as my husband was in a mountain bike event the following morning. Again, Tomas arranged our breakfast for earlier than usual and looked after us so well. The bar and waiting staff were lovely too. This is a small private hotel and is so well run - the service is impeccable and the room and en-suite was spotless. Cannot fault our stay - this is the third time we have booked the Liddesdale and it won't be the last.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

Return visit

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Cons: Very light curtains meant I awoke early
Location: Liddlesdale is great for outdoor activities
I have stayed before. The staff and locals are freindly and chatty. Excellent centre for walking, mountain biking or riding. Decent choice in bar. Not the smartest of hotels but well located
2 out of 5
by Mohamed from Darlington

Do not recommend

Posted Jul 22, 2015 on Hotels
Poeple were friendly but milk serviced with tea and coffee making facilities was expired, room wasn't clean enough
2 out of 5
by Hubert from Kierspe

Für den Komfort zu teuer

Posted Jun 19, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel war enttäuschend. Das Zimmer nicht gerade auf dem neusten Stand, sehr eng und klein. Der Fernseher hatte nur ein Programm und das auch nur mit sehr schlechtem Empfang. Für das Geld hätte ich ein wenig mehr erwartet. Allerdings konnte man gut zu Abend essen. Das Frühstück war nur mäßig
3 out of 5
by Iain from Leeds

Not the prettiest Hotel in the world, but very OK

Posted Jun 2, 2015 on Hotels
A quick stopover to hit the 7Stanes MTB trail. Which started right outside my bedroom window. Hotel was basic but clean and comfortable. possibly the £80 price was a little expensive for the facilities. Cooked breakfast was a good solid start to the day.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Keep away!

Posted Sep 16, 2014
This place is old and dirty. Place was a dump. Only good thing I can say about the place was the breakfast was ok. Stay away.
3 out of 5
by copshaw from north east

cold room, comfy beds

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels
Bit disappointed, heating not working had to use portable heater to warm the room on our arrival, bathroom could be updated, bed comfortable, good enough for short stay, not so for something longer.