Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Savas

Posted Oct 2, 2017 on Hotels
Easy access to the attractions with transit right out your door. Clean place in an older building. Would stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2017 on Hotels
Great neighborhood. Good condition of the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hastings

great period feel

Posted Sep 15, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: ornate period decor amazing breakfast ( and good choice too ) free WiFi in the room was good . .
Cons: room was only average really but comforablale and clean . .
Location: 25min flat walk or short bus ride to city ctr . .
lovely place - very ornate decor friendly people and wow what a Scottish breakfast !! lovely short stay and a quick bus ride to the city . . very good value for the £ !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
Staff were friendly. Good location for accessing city. Unfortunately our room faced the road which is busy so did not get a lot of sleep the two nights we stayed. Small room with external bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midlands, England

Really nice, modestly priced Guest House

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Friendly, helpful staff. Breakfast offered good choice, and the hot food was cooked to order.
Location: Lots of places to visit in Edinburgh. The Guest House is 25 minutes walk (or a 10 minute bus ride) from the city centre.
I stayed at Alba Hills for seven nights. The staff were very attentive, and seemed very concerned to provide good service. The room provided all the expected facilicites.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pleasant stay, good location, friendly staff, good breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by Tracy, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We are really grateful for your review and so glad you had lovely stay here with us. Thank you
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Alba Hills Hotel

Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived in the morning, when we went to drop-off the bags we were allowed to check in straight away as the room was empty the night before, the was no extra charge despite the fact we accessed the room just after 8am and had breakfast .We had proper rest before exploring the town, we were given enough information to explore the town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Friendly, Clean & very Helpfull
Cons: maybe sell drinks, to be taken back to room
I sent my son & Daughter in law for a few days after their wedding, they told me the staff were very friendly, the room clean & tidy & were more than happy, the only problem was no bar but that is easily sorted buy buying out & taking back, a 20 min / half hr walk into the main city & loads of things to see & do. They visited the Zoo which houses the only koala bears in the U.K. or so they were told & saw the March of the Penguins which amused them. They want to go back which is a glowing recommendation as they can be fussy.
4 out of 5
by Sonya from Poynton, Cheshire

Warm Welcome

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
I moved away from Edinburgh nearly a year ago. I wanted to go back on my own to see my old work colleagues and walking group friends. The guest house was bright and clean, staff were very friendly and made me feel welcome which was lovely as I was on my own.The house was old but lovely old fashioned which had a nice comfy feeling. My single room was cute, just what I wanted with an en-suite.My full english breakfast was hot and very filling ready for the day ahead. I stayed 2 nights and would stay again hopefully very soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Oct 10, 2015
The owner Muhammad was great and so was his father and younger brother. The French girl who did breakfast was very good also. The food was good. The room was beautiful and very comfortable. It was a 25 minute walk to all the sights in the city or take the bus about 2 minutes away.I would love to come back and stay here again.