Ratings based on 325 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Authentic B & B in Edinburgh

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Great stay, hosts were very helpful and polite. Room was very clean and cosy. Well located - closer to centre than I had thought. Breakfast was great too. Very pleased and good value for money - would stay again & recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Great place and location within easy walk to city centre. Lots of good places to eat and drink nearby, went with the owners recommendations and were more than happy. We stayed here for rugby international at Murrayfield, about an hours walk to the stadium, but good to be in a quieter neighbourhood afterwards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Great stay

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Great stay. Would thoroughly recommend Appin House. Good breakfast friendly staff and a stones throw from the city centre. Would happily go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern England

Nice hotel, friendly and genuine

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Pros: Generous, thoughtful and straightforward aproach. Guests feel valued.
Location: Easy and quick to travel to and from using public transport and much easier than by car for accessing centre of Edinburgh.
Very comfortable with a sense of style and a good "Edinburgh" feel about it. Some aspects could do with a bit of re-investment to refresh original set up but a minor point easily outweighed by overall experience. Everything worked, enjoyed our stay and would book again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: Nice comfy bed. warm shower
Cons: Kettle only provided lukewarm water Phone in room did not work. No instruction in room for WIFI code
Kettle & Phone in room did not work. Room appeared quite dusty TV too small Would have thought there would have been some shampoo and conditioner. Owner was not present at breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: Centrally located, very well appointed rooms, excellent staff and breakfast was 1st class
Cons: On street parking was a bit of a challenge.
Highly recommend this property. Centrally located, very helpful staff and great breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

Lovely guest house in great location

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Lovely guest house in great location for exploring the Royal Mile and very close to Arthur's Seat. We walked to both. On a quiet crescent. Good restaurants near by. Very friendly host. Very good breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

Lovely B & B in great location

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Appin House is a great B&B on a quiet crescent. It is a great location for the Royal Mile and Arthur's Seat both of which we walked to. Restaurants close by with great recommendations by our host. Made to order fantastic breakfast each morning in a lovely dining room. Street or property parking available. I highly recommend this B&B.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edinburgh

Superb, especially considering

Posted Sep 26, 2017
I said two guests but it was just me... so they lost out on half the profit but they still treated me very well!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midlands, UK

Quiet location close to city centre

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Nice location with close proximity to Hollyrood park, almost no city noise! Close to main city bus routes, clean rooms, substantial breakfast.