Ratings based on 441 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect stay!

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Super friendly staff, great location and very cosy room plus great breakfast selection. The perfect place for a trip to Edinburgh!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great hosts, delicious breakfast, good location.

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Great choice of books & DVD, did my laundry, very pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Very nice, comfortable hotel run by lovely people

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: very comfortable bed, quiet area, friendly & helpful staff.
Location: Just 20 minute walk to the centre or bus goes from just around the corner every 10 minutes.
The staff went out of their way to help. We arrived at the hotel hours before check in at around 10am and the hotel owner said she could have our room ready for us in half an hour - with no extra charge. She made us tea and coffee for the short wait. The room was warm and clean and bed was very comfortable with good quality linen. I would definitely revisit this hotel if I return to Edinburgh and recommend to any friends planning to visit. The hotel is in a nice quiet area of the city and there is a fabulous restaurant nearby called the Salisbury Arms - great spot!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brisbane

close to city,

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Everything
Great staff, breakfast and room. Close to the city, short bus ride or walk, but away from the hustle and bustle of the city tourist areas.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too much road noise

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Poor location too much Street noise. Had to keep windows open no air conditioning.
5 out of 5
by Jill

Edinburgh in June

Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
We had a lovely ground-floor room, with very good facilities. When we needed an evening meal, we were able to order a carry-out through the hotel, and were provided with plates and cutlery to eat in the bar - very good service. Breakfast is fine - buffet style, but cooked breakfast to order. Parking is very limited, but we were able to find a space with help from the staff.
5 out of 5
by virginia

Quiet and pleasant

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
Susan and Kevin were extremely helpful in all ways . I loved the comfort and safety of my little room; the neighborhood was delightful. The breakfast was also a treat!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hellertown, Pa

A bit out of the way but well worth it

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: The service and staff was great.
Cons: Air conditioning in the rooms (i.e. window units in the hotter months).
Location: A bit out of the way but still a quick ride to everything and the bus stop is right around the corner.
Ceilidh-Donia is a great place to stay. The owners are so nice and friendly. The morning breakfast is very good. My wife and I stayed there for three nights. The room was comfortable although it does not have air conditioning which could be an issue during the hotter months. It is a bit out of the way but a quick uber ride to the main part of the city. It's even walkable (about 30 minutes) if you like a little exercise. All in all a great experience. I would definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
by Craig

Great Hotel

Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
Susan and Kevin were excellent hosts. Our group had a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Inverness

Near Queens hall & Commonwealth pool

Posted May 6, 2017
After a warm welcome we enjoyed a beautiful room with every convenience'breakfast was a very lovely experience with wide choice !! We are delighted to have found such a beautiful place. Thanks xx