Ratings based on 326 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
46% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location near everything

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Hospitality, super friendly
Cons: Room cleaning
Location: Ten min to Edinburgh castle, walking distance to Arthur's seat, right near shops and close to downtown Edinburgh museums, nice neighbourhood
Great local bus connections Very welcoming with great suggestions for for, excursions Breakfast expensive but nice Room was very comfortable, great beds Would highly recommend for good value
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Freezing cold hotel

Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Hotels
The boiler broke in my apartment, and wanted to sleep in a warm hotel room. The reception closes at 10 pm, I arrived a bit earlier, and checked in. The guy at the reception was very rude, and showed zero hospitality. The room was OK for the price, BUT they turn the heating off at 10 pm. So my dream to sleep in a warm room got shattered, as the insulation of the room is bad, and all the heat was gone by midnight. What a waste of money!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Hotel is nice, staff super friendly and breakfast was great with choice of continental or hot. Location was great with bus right out front and bus every few minutes to royal mile. We rebooked for our return to Edinburgh
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient but in need of some TLC

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel could do with a bit of TLC. on a main road so is a bit noisy with road traffic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, you have what you pair for

Posted Apr 16, 2017
3 day in edinburgh, a hotel well connected in the main street of the city
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CH

Bad experience

Posted Apr 12, 2017
No one at the reception although check-in was during the official check-in times. Toilet and light not working properly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Edinburgh south of city

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Beautiful, comfortable room
Cons: heat
Location: Easy to get to when arriving in Edinburgh. Easy to ride a bus into the center of the city.
A beautiful room with a lovely bay window, a large family room with comfortable beds. The shower water did not get very hot and the room was a little bit cold, but the beds were warm. A bus station with buses directly into the city center was visible from our window. It was very easy to use the buses and the staff gave us information about using them. Convenient parking lot behind the building. We had to leave too early for breakfast, so don't know if the charge for breakfast was reasonable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Great place for the price

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: Location, staff.
Cons: Lighting in our room was poor. Bathroom would be improved by an exhaust fan.
Location: Convenient to Cameron Toll shopping and buslines.
This is a bargain hotel and if you keep that in mind, you'll be happy. The staff is really friendly and accommodating. The room and beds are comfortable. It's not deluxe, but you're not paying for that.
3 out of 5
by Belinda

Business trip.

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
The room was comfortable but I internet in rooms and breakfast were all add ons so the price wasn't as good value as I first thought. Staff were lovely though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West of Scotland

Satisfactory

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Comfortable with good location.
Cons: Noisy at front with traffic. Good double glazing would be beneficial.
Nice enough hotel, next to Cameron Toll, 2 min drive to Commonwealth Pool and car parking behind hotel. Pleasant enough staff with good nightly rates. Good location for weekend in Edinburgh but not great for swimmers due to noise from functions on a Saturday night. Would only recommend if guaranteed room at the back away from function room and traffic.