Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Old-world hotel with great service and restaurant

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great location, in a quiet residential area, minutes from the city center
We had a wonderful stay. The property is magnificent, the staff extremely efficient and polite, the restaurant excellent and the grounds are kept impeccably. Every night it was wonderful to get back to this corner of paradise after a day in the city center (which is only five minutes away by cab). Our suite (Lord Provost) was beautiful and romantic. We highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel easily accessible by bus, beautiful grounds

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Wonderful staff. Once you get over the overwhelming red color inside your room, it s all swell. Wonderful service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Wonderful hotel, fantastic staff. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfection! I'm not kidding!

Posted Jul 10, 2017
No doubt the most wonderful hotel experience I've ever had...and I travel a lot! Prestonfield House should write a book about how to run a hotel to perfection! The staff are extraordinary. Derek in particular is outstanding. I could go on and on about the incredible service. The hotel itself is pure indulgence and beautiful to say the least. We enjoyed the afternoon tea immensely. Very generous with portions. The breakfast was amazing! The Eggs Benedict was delicious. The Scottish show is held in the converted stables and very much worth seeing. We had a fantastic time. Dinner and wine were very good. The Prestonfield is worth every single penny. The memories will last a lifetime.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Parksville BC

A superb 5 star hotel in a park setting.

Posted Jun 30, 2017
An excellent location close to city yet in a park. Very helpful staff and exquisite meals. Luxurious period furnishings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Wonderful place with exceptional staff.

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Its unique location and historical appeal.
The facility is terrific and the experience we had with each member of the staff was second to none. Everyone from the restaurant team to housekeeping to the concierge were great. They went above and beyond to be courteous and helpful.
5 out of 5
by Shin Lyn

Awesome

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
Warm welcome and great service from everyone in Prestonfield. Lovely peacocks. This is my second visit and will still go back to here in future.
4 out of 5
by Joan

Scotland Country Experience

Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is everything you would expect: over the top tasteful/classical Scottish design, good food, marvelous service, a step back in time. It is a great stopover to experience country life between Glasgow and Edinburgh.
5 out of 5
by Deborah

Beautiful Romantic getaway

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay was great, we went for our anniversary weekend and the hotel didn't disappoint. Everything from the friendly welcome by staff, to the room size, décor, quality, cleanliness and comfort was excellent. The breakfast was included in the room rate which was good. All food and drinks at the hotel was of a very high standard and presented and served well. The only draw back to the hotel is that it is slightly out of town, however that is the price you pay for such a wonderful hotel with nice grounds. Plus its a 10 mins taxi ride into town which cant be complained about.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Hotels