Ratings based on 149 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Stayed 3 nights. Everything was wonderful, clean, great food, and location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Montana, USA

Fabulous host close to city center

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: The owner makes everything perfect!
Cons: Nothing, we were happy with our stay.
Location: Location is easy to reach all the main sights - Old Town, New Town, Princess Sreet. You can have a walk in the Meadows as they are close
The owner is an absolute delight - so kind and funny. She was a wealth of information - everything from restaurant suggestions to advice on the best driving route to take for the rest of our journey. Great insider tips. The room is small, but exceptionally clean and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and had a nice variety. Location is perfect - buses right outside the door to take you anywhere in the city, or it is an easy 20 minute walk to the sights. We would happily stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Daniel

Your mum in Edinburgh :)

Posted Aug 20, 2017 on Hotels
Love the host Viennie who is extremely helpful and friendly, make you feel like home. She has prepared an information sheet telling you all restaurants and facilities nearby, very useful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Very enjoyable. Good location. Very friendly. Comfortable clean room. Excellent breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Home away from home

Posted Jul 24, 2017
The owner made us feel so welcomed , it was like we were reunited with family.
5 out of 5
by Julianne

Excellent Edinburgh Accomodation!

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
Sherwood house has been my favorite place to stay on our entire trip around Scotland. The rooms are lovely, and incredibly clean. Vivienne, the host, is delightful, and immensely helpful if you are new to the area (or even the country!). She can answer questions about best ways to get around, and best things to see. We were able to walk into city center from Sherwood, and the bus system is pretty easy to navigate as well. Breakfast was also the best of our trip. Vivienne makes sure to make breakfast a very enjoyable meal. Overall, we cannot thank Vivienne and Sherwood enough for a throughly wonderful stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous guest house

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Absolutely beautiful guest house. Very elegant
Location: Centrally located, very close to Edinburgh Castle, great dining just down the street.
Vivienne is a wonderful host. My daughter was unwell, and she gave us great information as to where to pick up medicine, as well as advice about getting petrol and getting to the airport in time. The home was beautiful, and very clean. Our room was lovely, and the breakfast was delicious and elegantly set up.
5 out of 5
by Philip

Great all around and right on the John Muir Way

Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Hotels
The hostess was fantastic, the place was great and the neighborhood offered great options for dining or a casual drink. For anyone walking the John Muir Way, the place is perfectly situated within blocks of the route making it an excellent place to stop or from which to base 2 - 3 days worth of the trail (we did Linlithgow to S. Queensferry, S. Queensferry to Musselburgh, and Musselburgh to N. Bearwick while we stayed here using public transport to reach starting points and ending points quite easily). Highly recommend and take the hostess' recommendations for local eats. We did and all were great (especially Verdo).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Great Stay in Edinburgh

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Location: The B&B's location to the bus stops was a great perk on a rainy, cold day. Take advantage of the low cost/free opportunities that Edinburgh offers.
Our family of four stayed here at the end of June for three nights. Our room was more than adequate for us and our luggage. Breakfast was excellent and being able to park out front was a benefit. Vivienne was a great host. She was more than gracious and accommodating to our requests. Her advice about the Edinburgh area was invaluable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rudely shouted at by owner

Posted Jul 1, 2017
A test of a character is how you respond when times are bad, not when times are good. And unfortunately, our stay here proved that the hosts responded badly when guests were in a difficult situation. When we first arrived, Vivienne was a great host with knowledge of Scotland and Edinburgh. She has a book with brilliant recommendations that we based our trip upon! Great recommendations for cafes, day trips and places to visit. The room (6) was pretty cramped but it felt nice. However, on day 2 of our stay we headed for the coastal route towards St. Andrews. Our GPS multifunctioned, phones went flat and we reached back at 12am by a stroke of luck. We were under the impression that we had a car lot but unfortunately, one car was very badly parked which blocked out our space. We found ourselves stranded without a car. No guide was given to us on where we could park although the instructions emailed to us said there were free parking lots nearby. Our phones were dead and we couldn't do a search online. My girlfriend ran up to look for instructions in the guide but couldn't find any. Exhausting all options, she had to call Vivienne for help. To her shock, Vivienne shouted at her and asked us to figure it out ourselves. We eventually slotted our car in forcefully. It was so tight I had to climb out the boot. The next day, we felt so unwelcome that we just gave the breakfast a miss. To sum up, we were screamed at and felt unwelcome in small room we paid 80 pounds a night for.