Ratings based on 472 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff was very kind, but the accommodation lacking

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Pros: location has a bus stop right out front, and the staff was warm and inviting. The bedding and bathroom was clean in our room as well.
Cons: You can keep an older era feel to the B&B with antique furniture & fixtures, while updating the flooring, walls & drapery. Breakfast needs overhaul.
Location: City center was either a bus ride, or cab. You could walk, but figure at least 20-25 minutes to grass market. It's just under a mile and a half.
We found this B&B online and figured it would be a good place to stay. The pros were that the location has a bus stop right out front, and the staff was warm and inviting. The bedding and bathroom was clean in our room as well. In addition, the breakfast room felt cozy. The cons were: - Breakfast was not good at all. Beans were the best thing. Ham was overcooked and dry, apricot jam had zest in it and was not good at all - no other options, sausages had a tough casing and very soft meat inside so the texture was very odd. I barely ate anything. There wasn't much variety either. Day two I had the safe bet of rice krispies and banana. -Bedroom was an OK size, but wished it was larger. Only a full size (Double bed) which felt like the mattress was in dire need of replacement. I sat on the edge and the top nearly touched the bottom of the mattress. It was springy and not comfortable. The decor is severely outdated. I know that the feel is supposed to be from a earlier era, but with the flowery wallpaper, flowery carpeting, dark fuchsia drapery, I felt it's an easy way to hide stains and cleanliness. (Note - the bedding and bathrooms were very clean though). - The in room bathroom was quite tiny, and there was no were to hold any toiletries. The shampoo in the small shower was on the floor, so everyone dirty water would just go on top of it. - No AC in the room - No elevator to my knowledge so be prepared to carry your luggage upstairs. - 25 min walk to city center
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wanlockhead

Great Room very quiet

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Staff polite and helpful
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Location was well within walking distance to Edinburgh but if you didn't fancy the walk the bus stop was right across the road from the Guest House
We stayed for just one night but it was a very pleasant stay. We was in the garden flat (I think that was what it was called) and what a room. It was huge, very clean and comfortable. The young lady who greeted us on arrival was very helpful and polite. Huge bed of which we had a great nights sleep. Breakfast was more than ample. On the whole. A fabulous place to stay, we will definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Nice little place close to the sights

Posted Sep 24, 2017
The place was great, the staff were also great. The parking was a bit odd but at least there is parking, most other places in the area don't have parking at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon, USA

Very Nice B&B, Easy Access to Popular Bus Lines

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: See detailed response.
Cons: See detailed response.
Location: All the places and events in the central city, certainly Edinburgh Castle. If you can get tickets, the Tattoo is stirring.
We stayed in the lowest level unit - a few steps down and back up, but large, quiet (even though it's on a busy street), very clean modern and comfortable. Breakfast exceeded expectations, in terms of both the variety of selection and quality. Edinburgh is the big city, so B&Bs there don't necessarily have the cozy quaintness of say a place in the Highlands. There can be a bit more of a hotel feel. Plus, as we were in the City during Festival time, accommodations were plainly expensive all over. That said, our hostess was efficient, polite, and very knowledgeable and helpful. Because of her wise suggestions, we were ultimately able to see a performance of the Tattoo (highly recommended) despite having no prior reservations (Thank You!) All in All, the Ben Doran delivered everything it promised. A quality place to stay, and a pleasure to recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

mixed feelings

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Convenient for town with excellent bus service to centre or 30 minute walk. Bedroom very good but en suite less good with a tired shower and very noisy extractor fan. 'Scottish breakfast' mediocre with no fried, poached or scrambled eggs, black pudding some days but not others, and poor sausages.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sherwood park alberta canada

Wonderful place to stay. Close to downtown.

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Very quiet room. Breakfast was excellent. Best we had on our whole Scotland trip. They took care with things. Bed and pillows were very comfortable. Only downside was the small bathroom and low water pressure. Although shower was fine.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rude staff

Posted Aug 18, 2017
The man that worked there was terribly rude, and could definitely ruin a good mood. I left feeling disappointed and frustrated by the whole experience. I would never recommend Ben Doran as a nice place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Comfortable stay close to centre of Edinburgh

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Friendly and helpful staff and nice room. Breakfast was good. We could smell the bacon cooking from our room so may not be ideal for veggies/vegans! Could've done with a later breakfast time as finished at 9 except Sundays at 9.30. They charge 3%surcharge on all card payments so consider taking cash. On a bus route into the centre or about 20 minute walk so well located.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from edinburgh

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
It was alright. Friendly staff, good breakfast. The room was smaller than on the picture and bed was too small for us. The room was a bit noisy as window was toward main road so we had to keep it closed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Enjoyable stay

Posted Jul 9, 2017 on Hotels
Just an overnight stay, but enjoyed it. Owner very welcoming, lovely breakfast. About 30 minutes walk to Royal Mile and bus stop across the road with frequent buses if you don't fancy the walk. Would stay at the Ben Doran again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Joseph, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed The Ben Doran and hope to see you again soon. Dr Labaki