Ratings based on 101 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire, UK

Nice hotel and well connected to the city center

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Attached shower room was very small
Good friendly staff and a clean room, but very small on suite. Hotel is about 2 miles from the center but very well connected by bus.
4 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Steven from Pennsylvania

Very highly recommended!!!

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
Staff was *extremely* friendly and helpful. Room was large and comfortable. The only downside was the worn out mattress. But there are new owners, who just took over a month ago, and they told us they'll be replacing them. Hotel is on a bus route to center of town, so very convenient. We will *definitely* stay in this hotel on our next visit to Edinburgh. Very highly recommended!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Aus.

Remarkable breakfast is fantastic

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Wotif
The breakfast was served in a very nice dinning room, like a top restaurant, with classical settings such as tableware, furniture, decorating things... Quality fresh cooked foods as guest choices were fantastic. Staff were cheerful and helpful. A remarkable stay.
5 out of 5
by Richard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Terry from London

5* hospitality and convenience!

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed at The International for a week during the Fringe Festival. The new owners are doing a superb job. Nothing was too much trouble and the hospitality was great. I have been going to the Fringe for many years always paying inflated prices for City Centre hotels. The International is a vastly better alternative. Buses stop almost outside the door about every 4 minutes and a ride to the Royal Mile takes about 10 minutes.
4 out of 5
by Paul from Toronto

Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Hotels
A great little gem with amazing full breakfasts. Great bus service to the old town and a nice walk as well, only 20 minutes. Very friendly staff. Great pub nearby with the best haggis!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to city centre

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Good location. Easy to move around. A lot of buses available to go to city centre and attraction areas. Also have airport transfer service with reasonable price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Staff, Homely

Posted Jul 14, 2016
I had the opportunity to stay at the International Guest House for two weeks. It is recently under new ownership(June-July 2016). The hosts were amazing and diligent in ensuring I had everything I needed. Stay here if you want to have a good room with a clean bathroom and a staff that you will like and trust!
2 out of 5
by Marie Francoise from Chester Le Street

convenient but overpriced

Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels
it was a convenient location:a place where to sleep and get a bus into town.Bathroom very small:towels were small too.had to pay £5 extra if you wanted a bath towel!!! had to get on your hands and knee to access the kettle.Breakfast also extra.I felt it was rather overpriced