Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small hotel close to town centre

Posted Sep 13, 2017
This was a clean and comfortable place to stay for one night. The room was clean and the bathroom very good, think it had been refurbished, good bath and shower. Bed was comfortable. Only downsides were it was very dark, one window that faced onto a corridor so no great ventilation - there was air con but that was noisy. I was in a single room on the second floor and closest to the lift - which unfortunately meant I had a bit of a disturbed night as the lift working are obviously above the lift on the roof space - so any time the lift went up or down I could hear a humming/buzzing noise. Others would probably sleep through it but I need quiet to get to sleep... So if you are a light sleeper avoid room 37. I didnt eat at the hotel so couldnt comment about food.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sheffield, Yorkshire

Time to clean up their act

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: Breakfast.
Cons: Quite a lot needs a renovation in some areas. Safety an issue. see above.
stayed last December lovely room, stayed last week gone downhill. Room in rim condition, wallpaper hanging from walls, Lots of grouting needs doing in bathroom. Bathroom door doesn't close. bathroom ceiling disgusting. Emergency escape procedure in a drawer! not much use there! reported to reception who said general manager will get back to me still waiting!! NAnd this one cost a lot more!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham UK

Great hotel for horse racing lovers

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Second stay and yes the hotel needs an update but it has character and the rooms are huge....beats premier inn anytime. Staff very friendly Libby on reception so helpful and pleasent from the minute e arrived. Great position for the heath gallops and the town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

comfortable hotel

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: location of hotel and as regular customers we would only stay here
Cons: check in time 2pm bit earlier would be good
Location: if you like horses look no further
we are regular customers plenty of parking good access to towm or the gallops lovely room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Problem with air conditioning in room, was fixed within 24 hours
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent for Newmarket races.

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Extremely helpful staff and easy parking.
Would have stayed there again if it had not been booked out.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from england

great location

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: location to the gallops and town centre
Cons: first impressions curtains/ nets look black from the outside communial carpets need replacing
Location: if you like horses this hotel is great the gallops are a short walk and town is close
stayed here many times over the years staff great and helpful badly in need of modernisation
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from portsmouth uk

a short taxi ride to the race course..nice place.

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: close to town and race course...............
Cons: all fine...........
Location: town centere ...race course....
2 adults 2 young adults....very happy with hotel ..town centre just around the corner...a good nights sleep..staff great..thank you..
3 out of 5
by Alexander

Uninspiring

Posted Jun 24, 2017 on Hotels
The staff were kind, the hotel was uninspiring. Nursing-home architecture. The view from the room was a petrol station. Add to that... it ain't cheap.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels