Ratings based on 149 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Newmarket visit

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Hotel was somewhat dated and in my opinion a bit overpriced compared to some other places I stayed in in Newmarket. Overall I was pleased with things
Location: huge mall right across the street which might account for the higher price
Hotel was easy to find. I arrived early so my room was not read which is understandable. Shopping and entertainment was close by, matter of fact right across the street.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2016 by Lynda Aucoin, General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Peter, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As you mentioned, we are positioned well with many conveniences in the area, within walking distance. We look forward to your return,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aurora

Great hotel for the money.

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: Cheap, clean and convenient.
Cons: The "manager" needs to be replaced.
Location: Situated across the street from one of the best Malls in Canada and in the center of Newmarket's shopping district.
Most of the staff are great. The hotel is clean and well maintained. Great restaurant. The hotel "manager" should not be allowed to talk to customers. There was a mix-up with my length of stay and she accused me of lying. She asked me to leave and threatened to gather my stuff from my room and have it waiting for pick up at the front desk. This was only resolved after I called head office. The "manager" called me back to let me know I was lucky that they had a cancellation and that I had better be more careful next time. I sincerely doubt that Best Western would be proud of how their "manager" handled this.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Howard, First I would like to apologize for the delay in my response at it did not "post" to this online review board last month when I replied. Thank you for your 4 out of 5 rating for us (despite the confusion with your Expedia reservation and subsequent fall out). I sincerely apologize for the misunderstanding you had with our Front Office Manager, whom is often praised as an exceptional young lady and an asset to the team I am blessed to have. With Regret, Lynda Aucoin
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2016
It was a one night stay which was pretty good. Facilities were decent. Rooms should be little bit more cleaned. Apart from that overall it was good
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Corbeil, Ontario

Convenient

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Quiet and peaceful
Cons: n/a
Location: n/a
Needed to stay somewhere c lose to highway but not too close and needed to be quiet
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mauvaise

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Les chambres puent et sentent mauvais L emplacement et loin
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2016 by Lynda Aucoin, Hotel Management
I am so sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations and after reviewing every log for the past week to help determine what room you could have been in; I am at a loss. Please call and let us know, so we can remedy these issues as soon as possible. Sincerely, Lynda Aucoin, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2016
The motel part of the hotel is extremely loud. We were there for a funernal but most guests were there for a wedding and from 1:30-3:30 the room shook every time someone walked up the stairs and past our room. It was terrible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2016 by Lynda Aucoin , Hotel Management
I am so very sorry we did not meet your needs at this very stressful time. As you mentioned, the weekend you were with us, we hosted an unusually high number of wedding groups, a celebrative crowd of guests indeed. With regret, Lynda Aucoin, General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient location close to historic downtown

Posted Jul 3, 2016
We were impressed with the friendly staff (front desk, dining room and housekeeping). In the dining room we enjoyed the roast beef special. It was excellent, tender with generous portions and accompanied with a fabulous Caesar salad.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2016 by Lynda Aucoin, Hotel Management
We appreciate this assessment of your stay with us. I am pleased you acknowledged our caring and friendly staff as I am truly blessed with the crew on board. In appreciation, Lynda Aucoin, General Manager
4 out of 5
by Victor from Shelburne

Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
Room was comfy and clean; would be nice to see the restaurant open earlier, especially for early hospital appointments
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2016 by Lynda Aucoin, Hotel Management
Dear Victor, It was kind of you to take the time to post a review and highlight our clean rooms as this is one of our key commitments at Best Western. The Buttery Restaurant (just off our Lobby) opens a little bit later on Sundays as it is a very popular local spot for a Brunch Buffet. Sincerely, Lynda Aucoin, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 19, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
Great location, close to shopping mall
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2016 by Lynda Aucoin, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. As you mentioned, we are positioned well with many conveniences in the area, within walking distance. We look forward to your return, Lynda Aucoin, General Manager