Ratings based on 249 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belleville, On

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Location and service.
Cons: Lighter blanket if comforter to warm
Location: Great location, a lots of services walking distance, shopping mall and all the big box stores.
Excellent location, friendly staff, clean and renovated room and bathroom. Not the greatest quality of in-room coffee, comforter to heavy, good quality of the mattress. Stayed 1 night. Our room had the entrance from the outside.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by Miranda , Hotel Management
Hi Jugana, Thank you for your informative review. We do have other blankets upon request or located in the closet of each room. I understand in the summer months the douvet can be a little to hot. We are delighted you had a wonderful stay and we welcome you back anytime. Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. Kindest Regards, Miranda Middleton Guest Service Agent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton Ont.

Nice Hotel, close to everything.

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Location for our needs, very friendly and helpful staff and very clean room.
Cons: A second elevator would be helpful.
Location: There is a huge Mall across the street, and many restaurants in the area.
The Staff were completely accommodating and cheerful. The premises were clean, and our room was spotless with very comfortable beds. We spent two nights there, and would recommend it to anyone. We did not use the restaurant but it looked very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by Miranda , Hotel Management
Hi Ed and Marian, Thank you for the wonderful compliments. We really have a great team here, I am very proud to be apart of it. I am very pleased that you recognized the cleanliness and friendly staff, as those are the two key commitments of the Best Western brand, and something we strive very hard for. We appreciate your business as you are valued guests. If there is anything we can do for you in the future, please do not hesitate to call. All the Best, Miranda Middleton Guest Service Agent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: It was located conveniently near my family,shopping and good restaurants
Cons: The ice machine location. It was right outside our door. Loud.
The accommodations were good. The ice machine was right outside our door which got to be a bit loud as it seemed to be the gathering place for a group staying in the hotel. Staff was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2017 by Best Western , Hotel Management
Hi There, I am so sorry you found the ice machine to be a gathering area and loud, next time you stay with us we will be sure to keep you away from the third floor, just be sure to mention that you'd like to be away from the ice machine- some people have no problems others can hear a pin drop and we'd like to accommodate as best as possible. We really like our location and are happy you also enjoyed it. We are lucky that Newmarket has developed around us nicely, with plenty to do. We hope you will come back again soon. Best Regards, Miranda Middleton Guest Service Agent
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kawartha Lakes

Easy access to major routes in Newmarket

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: See comments in experience.
Location: Close to popular restaurants, and large shopping mall.
Super friendly and helpful staff. Spacious, comfortable and clean room. A one-night stay for business, and I would definitely choose this hotel again. I did not need extra amenities, i.e. gym, pool or spa facilities, so I didn't miss them. Apparently there are arrangements with nearby gyms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Lynda, Hotel Management
Dear Heather, It is our pleasure to have met your needs and are all delighted to see such a wonderful rating and review. We look forward to your return. In appreciation, Lynda Aucoin General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Motel on busy street

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Staff was very nice.
Cons: Everything mentioned above!!!
Location: It is across the street from Upper Canada Mall.
We thought we had booked a room in a hotel, but discovered it was a motel when we arrived. Our first room really smelled and then when we opened the window we smelled gas. We asked to be moved and our second room was much better. It was on the second floor though with no elevator, so I had to lug our luggage up to the room. The room was clean enough, but we did have ant problems. Also, there were many sirens during the night since the hospital is not too far away. The most disappointing thing about this place was that they had an ash tray right outside our room and two men smoked and talked for a long time at 3:00 AM and woke mixkkds up. I wear ear plugs so I did not hear. The next morning I opened my door and smoke came in our room as someone was smoking there. 1 foot from our door. Not impressed!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Miranda Middleton, Guest Service Agent , Hotel Management
behalf of the team, I wish to apologize for not exceeding your expectations as that is what we strive to do. I am terribly sorry that you did not have a desirable room, typically, which we are working on, the third party sites do not fully explain the location of rooms our guests have booked. Our economy rooms are located on the exterior of the hotel which is ground level or accessible by stairs. Though some guests prefer this location it is not ideal for all. Hopefully we can redeem your opinion of us with your next stay by getting you a location on the interior portion of our hotel. I am pleased that you were taken care of from our humble staff. If there is anything we can do for you or should you have anymore feedback please contact us at anytime. Best Regards,
5 out of 5
by Guy

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent, upgraded to accessible unit, very friendly and pleasant staff, 100 %
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Lynda Aucoin, Hotel Management
Dear Guy, Your gracious online review and recommendation has certainly made our day and I thank you! We look forward to your return. In appreciation, Lynda Aucoin, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Great staff but...

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Have a lovely room but there were issues so got another room. Staff were able to accommodate my mobility issue quickly. Room was clean except for the tub felt like it had a film on it but that's the least of my worries. The location is great when you have a car. Wasn't expecting the beds to be made up each day but they were. I left valuables out and nothing was missing. The air conditioners are window ones but felt the room wasn't keeping cool enough. Fridge and other amenities are great as well. Wish it had a pool and other ones as the price point was a little high.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Lynda, Hotel Management
Dear Nick, Thank you for posting a review for us. We provide complimentary vouchers to two different town pool complexes nearby (facilities with Olympic size swimming lanes, waterslide, sauna, and whirlpool) and passes to the Goodlife Fitness Center or Master Fitness Complex across the street providing our guests far more value than smaller facilities on property. We are also walking distance to a splash pad and playground. Sincerely, Lynda Aucoin, General Manager
5 out of 5
by steven

Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
It is an old hotel, but the cleanest hotel I ever stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Lynda Aucoin, Hotel Management
Dear Steven, Thank you for your candid review. I am pleased to see you did not judge a book by its cover. We look forward to your return. Sincerely, Lynda Aucoin, General Manager
5 out of 5
by Susana

Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2017 by Lynda Aucoin, Hotel Management
We were all delighted to see such a good rating and I thank you for taking the time to post one. In appreciation, Lynda Aucoin, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2017 by Lynda Aucoin, Hotel Management
On behalf of the team, I do apologize for not exceeding your expectations when that is what we strive to do. With regret, Lynda Aucoin, General Manager