Ratings based on 240 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Great location. Right off the highway

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Cons: Service of breakfast was too slow
Location: Dromoland castle has beautiful grounds. Lovely golf course
The only negative. We had to wait along time for breakfast
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Caroline Devane , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your wonderful 4 review following on from your recent visit with us. We are always delighted to receive in such high praise, especially for service as we do try to exceed expectations with everything that we do. Kind Regards Caroline Devane Revenue Coordinator
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Cons: the room lighting. Needs repining
everyone very friendly and helpful. Needs painting. things beginning to look old. The room needs better lighting. Its hard to read in the room. the desk had no light for example. But overall everything was fine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by Reservations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments which I will pass on to the relevant departments.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Satisfactory

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Staff.
Cons: Bigger rooms/options with suites.
We tried desperately to get into Dromoland Castle, but it was booked solid and after several phone calls with fingers crossed for cancellations (and no luck), we found ourselves at the Inn. It is what it is. We knew we'd be stuck in one room with a 1.5 year old (ahhhh!), and even though we'd booked the best room option they have, it was still a squeeze. Ultimately, it just wasn't an ideal environment for us, so our stay wasn't great, but we knew what we were getting into. That being said, the hotel staff was excellent. Friendly and prompt. They brought a pack and play straight to our room upon arrival, and were more than helpful throughout the stay. The lobby is well decorated - it doesn't look run down or shabby, and the hotel bar was great. We ordered apps and drinks before placing a dinner order to go. They had a delivery fee for bringing it to the room, so my husband walked down and got it himself. It's too bad the indoor playground isn't open on weekdays (so we didn't get to do that), but we did use the pool briefly. Again, it was fine. Nothing to write home about, but occupied us for a good 45 minutes. The room situation wasn't a great fit for us and we likely wouldn't go back, but if you're in need of an affordable place that's clean and friendly, this will do just fine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by Reservations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, and for your positive comments in relation to service, lobby and food. Our indoor playground is seasonal due to business levels, however we do offer the outdoor playground and lots to explore on the Dromoland Castle Estate.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017
Thank you for your 5/5 rating, delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely stay, warm welcome at reception, food is excellent in the bar, good value for both accomadation & bar food.. Needs some updating in hallways for carpets & in the bedroom, but I'm sure in good time..Keep up the good service etc..
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017
Thank you for your 5/5 rating, delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
3 out of 5
by Philip

Posted Oct 15, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by Tom Shanahan, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your 3* review - delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back next time you are visiting Ireland. Regards Caroline Devane
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Spacious, loads of seating areas to relax

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Cons: Decor
Staff were excellent, decor was a little shoddy but overall the hotel had a very warm, welcoming feel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by Caroline , Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your wonderful 4* review following on from your recent stay. Delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit. Kind Regards Caroline Devane Revenue Coordinator
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Co Kerry

Nice Hotel Good Parking Spaces Staff Very Nice

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: 100% I will give this Hotel.
Cons: No I was so Happy
Location: Walking, Golf and Music all in short distance from Hotel
Good location Good Car Parking Space Easy to Get in And Out to Motorway To Take Guest to very nice places to visit. Staff so nice very helpfull. Plenty Space in Hallway, Lift to take Guest to their Bedrooms. I will tell my Friends of my nice stay .
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by Caroline, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your 5* review. Delighted you enjoyed all aspects of your visit. Regards Caroline Devane Revenue Co-ordinator
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful country setting

Posted Oct 4, 2017
The staff was very helpful not only in the very nice hotel but also in helping us find are way around in the country side. It had a great pub with good food and good Irish music. In the inside corner room by walkway to the pool. The windows needs screens many mosquitoes in the room after dinner. The country views were beautiful from the Hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by Caroline, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your 5* review. Delighted you enjoyed all aspects of your visit. Regards Caroline Devane Revenue Co-ordinator
4 out of 5
by james

great value for the money

Posted Sep 20, 2017 on Hotels
one of the day managers Niall went above and beyond to assist with heating issue in our room- very good value for the $$ and nice quiet location
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by Tom Shanahan, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your 4* review. Delighted you enjoyed all aspects of your visit. Regards Caroline Devane Revenue Co-ordinator