Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Visiting friends in Gloucester area.

Posted Jul 21, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Restaurant and village atmosphere.
Cons: Room appointments need upgrade to better standard. Easier stair access. On-site parking.
Location: Booked from overseas (without knowledge of area) to visit friends. We were quite far awayas it turned out. Did not book on location things to do.
Main issue was access to room via steep staircase with a heavy self closing door at stair entrance. Room appointments adequate for needs but overall condition very 'tired' - expected perhaps for an establishment of this age. Food in restaurant was quite good and hostess courteous and cooperative. No on-site parking, but street parking in close proximity was OK.
5 out of 5
by Audrey from Weston Super Mare

Wonderful short break!

Posted Jun 22, 2015 on Hotels
Spent 2 nights at The Ship being warmly welcomed by Adrian & Carrie. Everything from the lovely, clean, comfortable room, the rather unique bar to the perfectly cooked food was so enjoyable. We would recommend The Ship as a great location for a restful stay and for exploring the local area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2015
A very pleasent stay, food was great as was the staff and room was clean and tidy.
4 out of 5
by stephen from St Neots . Cambs

Ship Inn March '15

Posted Mar 10, 2015 on Hotels
Great stay -- my third time would use again
5 out of 5
by Caroline from Bristol

The ship inn

Posted Sep 17, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent and friendly hotel. The good was amazin. The hotel was clean and comfortable. Would defiantly recommend and go back .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melton Mowbray

Friendly, relaxing, excellent food, v comfortable

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Excellent country pub with superb atmosphere and restaurant facilities, comfortable and spacious accommodation in a quiet, convenient village location
Cons: Details on website could outline opening times, hairdryers available in rooms, unrestricted, free parking at front of premises & other selling points
Location: On the western bank of the River Severn and the edge of the beautiful Forest of Dean, close to Ross-on-Wye, Gloucester and Monmouth.
This was a late booking in August '14 - good reviews, so we thought "Why not?". We were certainly not disappointed. The staff were, without exception, welcoming, friendly, and nothing was too much trouble throughout our all-too-brief stay. Our room was spacious and very comfortable, and parking on the side road at the front was both charge and problem-free. But above all else was the food. This was locally sourced, herbs straight from the rear garden, and one reason we'll be going back. The home-made burgers were as good as we've sampled anywhere, the home-made ice creams were pure delight, and breakfast the following morning just the way a full-English should be. If this was close to home, we'd be regulars.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from West Midlands

Ideal for the Bore

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: It's friendly staff,quietness &proximity to the river to see the Bore
Cons: This hotel has character being in an old village so little improvements needed.
Location: Well placed to visit Gloucester,dean Forest Railway &Forest of Dean,Lydney &Harbour,Westbury Court Garden(NTRUST)Tintern Abbey &River Wye.
We chose to stay here as we wanted to see the Severn Bore in an evening & the following morning.It is ideally suited for this purpose.The room we had was very spacious,with a very comfy bed & lots of tea/coffee provided.The en suite was clean with plenty of towels &toiletries.Breakfast was excellent,freshly cooked food with lots of coffee which set us up for the day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Wa

Charming B & B

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Located in a beautiful village, The Ship Inn exudes warmth and hospitality. The bar and restaurant serves top notch foods and drinks including a delicious full English breakfast. A delightful place to stop and relax while visiting the Cotswold's.
4 out of 5
by anon

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 18, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by S1275 from Bedfordshire

Fantastic accomodation with friendly hosts

Posted Jul 11, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed here for 1 night whilst visiting family in the area. We found the hotel accommodation to be of a high standard and the owners (and locals in the bar) were extremely friendly and helpful. We ate dinner and breakfast in the bar and the food was amazing and plentiful. Top marks to the chef!!