Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reading

Good place for a comfortable sleep

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
We had a nice comfortable sleep. Bathroom seemed a bit dated at first, but was OK. We were served a nice filling and delicious breakfast by the lovely couple and we enjoyed our time there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from K

Great little pub with accommodation

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Third or fourth stay at The Ship, always a friendly personal welcome, made to feel at ease and a genuine wish to please. Would highly recommend.
5 out of 5
by Tim from Stamford

A great place dont be put off by the photo !!

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
A great atmosphere, Great staff, lovey food and excellently kept real ale
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Roy, Wa State

Convenient, reasonably priced

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Availability, price, cleanliness.
Cons: Bring in extra staff, if possible, during holiday times.
Location: Not applicable, just passing through
Needed a nights lodging at the last minute. They were understaffed but gave us information to get dinner elsewhere. Breakfast was great, couldn't eat it all. Overall positive review.
5 out of 5
by Matthew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Ann from Banbury

Great welcome

Posted Jun 18, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed for one night and had a fantastic experience; from the warm welcome to the great room; fabulous food and great atmosphere. We were made to feel welcome right from the first moment and the hosts couldn't do enough to ensure we had a lovely time even though we were only there for a short time. Recommendations about local walks and longer drives were a nice touch and the recommendations for the food were also excellent. I had the ribs which were 'amazing'! They melted in the mouth and the portion size was huge! There isn't much else in the village but it's a great base to explore the Wye Valley and Forest of Dean. Will definitely book again when we go back to this area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay!

Posted May 28, 2016 on Hotels
The owner of the hotel was very nice and kind, providing whatever you need if possible. The food from the restaurant was gorgeous and the chef was a very nice person as well! It is a very quiet neighborhood so I get to relax a little bit. It was truly a great stay!
5 out of 5
by philip

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 22, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cardiff

Hotel treasure - glad we found it

Posted Oct 30, 2015
Pros: The friendly informal ethos, the high standard of decor in the bedrooms and the delicious food.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Fantastic location for viewing the Severn Bore - Gloucester and Malvern in close proximity.
Wonderful experience - such a warm friendly welcome, rooms were spacious and delightful, well equipped, comfortable and the hosts had thought about customer needs. The restaurant menu is varied to suit many tastes, and the food is freshly cooked to order. It was the best gourmet burger I have ever tasted. Breakfast was also delicious and cooked to order.
4 out of 5
by George from Surrey

The Ship Inn review

Posted Oct 9, 2015 on Hotels
The stay at the Ship Inn was very comfortable and everything was provided for. The room was well maintained and clean. Breakfast was very good as was the hospitality. The cat and the dog were equally friendly. The location was also good for viewing the Severn Bore. The only downside was having a spider's web outside my front window with a spider keeping me company.