Ratings based on 821 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque

Nice location. Awful beds.

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Location is lovely. Room spacious. Most staff helpful. But beds are like rock.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eugene, OR

Depressing Palimsest

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Pros: Nice room staff. Pool and attendants were cool.
Cons: Design of building to include another elevator.
Location: Go to Newport Beach. Find a Pandor for breakfast. Stay off freeways.
I booked the Balboa Bay Resort because as a teenager in the late 60s our family had a membership to the Balboa Bay Club. My dad' and enjoyed the benefit of an apartment there as well. The old club, pool, and beach were very cool. But there's not one place for relaxing in a comfort while looking at the harbor unless you are in a restaurant. There's really nothing left of the vintage club. Now an ostentatious resort takes its place. The concept represents classicism at its worst. If you book on Expedia, the club puts you out in the south 40 where you have to walk a mile just to get an elevator down to the lobby or pool. God forbid there would be an emergency. There would be a crush of people trying to get to one stairwell. The A+O cafe is good though; at least menu offers original dishes but wines are overpriced. Our HVAC was a little crazy and seemed to have a hard time regulating temps. As always, staff is fine- the problems are not their fault. I won't go threre again. Overpriced, except for the harbor side, the views suck.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Balboa Island and Newport Beach.

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Location, quality, great breakfast
Cons: Nothing
Great place to walk Newport Beach and Balboa Islanf. Across street from many car dealerships: McLaren, Porsche, Ferrari, Maserati
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montanA

Excellant location for Whale sighting tour

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Beautiful hotel, loved the atmosphere and Decor in the lobby excellent casual dining by the fire pit with mai tai and dinner. Very close to our whale sighting tour and fabulous hot tub, cabana and pool
4 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern Cal

Excellent experience along the waterfront.

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: Friendly and accommodating staff.
Cons: NA
Location: Rented a Duffy for a family harbor cruise that was just perfect.
Spent Mother's Day weekend at the Bay Club and had a wonderful time with our adult children joining in on the fun. The hotel and facilities were tops, along with the weather and related staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Nice location

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: room cleaning
Location: bars,restaurants, yachts,beach
Can not rate this hotel as excellent by following reasons Check-in was easy and pleasant.Overall location and atmosphere are great... Unfortunately after getting through the room,bathroom,balcony we found coffee cup used as ashtray sitting between our and neighbor room balconies. Most disappoint me is that i found lots of long hair on floor in hallway as well as shower cabin. Thanks, ilya
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UT

Very nice Hotel on the water.

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Staff, Location, Room
Cons: Overall it was a great stay. The pool area was in renovation while we were there, so they gave us access to the "members only" pool area.
Location: Lots of shopping and food nearby. A short drive to Laguna Beach and Huntington Beach. Also fun to go over on the peninsula.
Very nice hotel - It's great being right on the water. The staff was excellent and did whatever needed to ensure your comfort. Clientele is a lot of business people, attending meetings and more formal functions. If you’re going for a casual weekend, you will stand out like the Beverly Hillbillies. Great Place overall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, good location

Posted May 15, 2017
Overall great stay. Nice hotel, close to the inlet (although not the actual ocean-front, as there is an inlet with water and homes on the other side, so it's more like a harbor view). Larger pool was closed for renovation, which was unfortunate, but the smaller pool was still nice. There's a small beach you can lay out on and watch the boats or go kayaking, SUP'ing at. Staff was accommodating and overall for the area this is a really nice option. Restaurants are walkable and downtown Newport is about a mile away. Only downside is you have to pay extra for everything (parking, resort fee, late checkout), but otherwise we had a nice stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2017 on Hotels
Underwhelming customer service for this level of facility. Pool and amenities under construction without any prior notice. Carried our own bags into hotel and up to room even with several bellboys available. Asked to make Mothers Day reservation at their restaurant for Sunday when we arrived on Friday but were told that they were completely booked up and they referred us offsite to find another restaurant. I asked to be put on a waiting list and that someone at least give me some feedback. Never happened. Used to be a great place to stay. We've been here many times in the past. Not anymore.