Ratings based on 836 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange Country, CA

Enjoyable.

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff. Uncrowded dining areas. Good food.
Cons: I asked the valet staff to plug in my car (Tesla) during our 3 day, 2 night stay. It was not done. Disappointing.
We intended this 3 day/2 night stay as a change of pace and it was the right choice. It was not perfect but it suited our purpose.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from eastvale,ca

Beautiful hoter

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Had a wonderful stay the staff was great and very helpful. We had breakfast at the Waterline restaurant the food was great our waiter was awesome and we had a wonderful view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Great location - staff needs to improve!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
This is in a great location but the staff is awful! We had room service the first night and was not given any utensils. We had lunch/drinks one night at E&O and my drink which I ordered upon arrival didn't reach out table until I was Finished eating. The staff was neither very apologetic nor did did they offer to remove it from the bill. The breakfast at the terrace restaurant is lovely, albeit super overpriced. I tried the spa services which were fair and again, overpriced. We called down in advance to ask for our car to be ready from the valet and each and every time it was NOT ready and again, instead of the staff being apologetic or cordial about it, they barked that they can't guarantee it will be ready as they are quite busy. Well, just TELL me that and don't make me think it will be ready, and we wouldn't have had any issues! So, great hotel if you want to be near the water. But AWFUL service, even for California laid-back standards!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff and facilities

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Not sure staff were happy with their jobs therefore affected their porformance, could not use hotel beach and at the end supervise service charges which was not use at all.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque

Nice location. Awful beds.

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Location is lovely. Room spacious. Most staff helpful. But beds are like rock.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eugene, OR

Depressing Palimsest

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Pros: Nice room staff. Pool and attendants were cool.
Cons: Design of building to include another elevator.
Location: Go to Newport Beach. Find a Pandor for breakfast. Stay off freeways.
I booked the Balboa Bay Resort because as a teenager in the late 60s our family had a membership to the Balboa Bay Club. My dad' and enjoyed the benefit of an apartment there as well. The old club, pool, and beach were very cool. But there's not one place for relaxing in a comfort while looking at the harbor unless you are in a restaurant. There's really nothing left of the vintage club. Now an ostentatious resort takes its place. The concept represents classicism at its worst. If you book on Expedia, the club puts you out in the south 40 where you have to walk a mile just to get an elevator down to the lobby or pool. God forbid there would be an emergency. There would be a crush of people trying to get to one stairwell. The A+O cafe is good though; at least menu offers original dishes but wines are overpriced. Our HVAC was a little crazy and seemed to have a hard time regulating temps. As always, staff is fine- the problems are not their fault. I won't go threre again. Overpriced, except for the harbor side, the views suck.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Balboa Island and Newport Beach.

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Location, quality, great breakfast
Cons: Nothing
Great place to walk Newport Beach and Balboa Islanf. Across street from many car dealerships: McLaren, Porsche, Ferrari, Maserati
4 out of 5
by Duchein

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Wendy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Brian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels