Ratings based on 826 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Del Mar, CA

Room Quality Inconsistent at the Hotel

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: Friendliest bartender in Newport Beach - Heather is great!
Location: Great location right on the pier and close to the beach.
We've stayed at Balboa Inn many times in recent years and enjoyed it, but I decided to go for an upgrade to the ocean view suite this time instead of a basic ocean view room, which was had always been excellent. What a disappointment! Stained carpet, bed was like a rock slab, tiny pillows, missing toilet paper holder, broken window crank, chipped paint. We were also right next to the upstairs restaurant deck so people could look into directly into our room as they ate.This room was also in the older of the two parts of the hotel - and it's long overdue for an overhaul!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Location

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Location and continental breakfast.
Cons: Park for free
Location: Location to all that is Newport Beach
Great location rooms are on the small side but clean and looks recently remodeled. Location is excellent, however on a courner so noise can be an issue. Price $$$$. They have secure valet parking available for a fee. Guest are not free.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Amazing

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Went for one night and had to stay again!!! Great service staff was nice and perfect location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Martinez, CA

Beachfront hotel. Nice but with a few drawbacks.

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Rooms overlooking the beach very nice but loud as A/C units are right outside. Bath towels have seen their days. Overused. Some with stains. Beds are wonderfully comfortable. Like the location but will probably stay somewhere else next time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

BREAKFAST SUCKS 40 BUCKS VALET ONLY OPTION 300 NIG

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Way Old and Over priced ended up paying like 400dollars for one night cheap breakfast you gotta pay 40 for valet or park a mile away They don't mention that on Expedia smh Not Worth the money
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lakewood,Ca

Location is good

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The only good thing about this hotel is the location. It's close to everything: beach, pier, food places, etc. The hotel itself is not worth it, especially as to how much they charge for it. They take advantage of the location instead of providing the best of their facility and services. Upgrades on this facility is needed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach

Posted Aug 17, 2017
We've stayed here many times and always hope that the condition of the property will improve. The indoor and outdoor furnishings are battered and the overall condition of the property seems to be in decline.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wouldn't stay here again

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Not a very good hotel for the price. The main entrance seemed fancy and modern so I was pretty excited to see the room. It was disappointing to say the least. It was very dingy and run down like a cheap motel. The ac didn't work and the room was very musty. The layout of the hotel is very strange. The walkways to access the rooms also serve as the dining room for the restaurant so you literally have to walk through people to get to your room. Then there was a wedding at the hotel during our stay and it was literally outside our door. We couldn't leave the room because we didn't want to interrupt the ceremony. Staff seemed very unprofessional. the bar tender had her phone out and was recording an older man who was clearly drunk profess his love for her and she was playing along when I asked her for some ice and it just seemed real strange. The beds were horrible and since there was no ac we had to keep the windows open(one of them was actually broken and didn't close ) so the noise made it real hard to sleep. The pull out sofa was so bad my friend couldn't even sleep on it. I would defenetely never stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from OR

Facility needs updating

Posted Aug 5, 2017
We found the Balboa Inn to be very overpriced for their facility. While the location was great, the facility was run down. The beds were very small and the room was incredibly noisy. We also did not appreciate being lied to and heckled by the bike vendors next door whom the Balboa Inn staff recommend to their customers. Do not rent bikes from the rental place on their property! We would not stay here again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newberry Springs

Perfect location if you love the beach

Posted Jul 29, 2017
The rooms are not maintained, very noisy, no phone or clock and the television is horrible. The hotel staff is wonderful and goes above the standard to see that your stay is the best. Amazing location just wish the rooms were in better condition.