Ratings based on 832 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Value close to beach

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Excellent complimentary breakfast. Friendly staff. Short walk to beach. Convenient loaning of beach towels and beach chairs. Overnight parking fee was only $7. Thank you for pleasant and affordable lodging in Newport Beach area.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Dishonest Owner/Manager

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Quite surprised to see an additional $200 charge after we checked out. Appears it's another income stream for them. When discussed with the "owner" she was rude, disrespectful & refused to reverse unsubstantiated charge. I would head farther down PCH & stay at the Hilton, where we normally stay & never had any issues. Better location & closer to great eateries & across from beach. This establishment totally lacks customer service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Arthur A, Hotel Management
Dear Mike I do apologize that you had an issue with our stay. I do want to point out that we do have policies in place and we do have our guests sign the folio stating they are aware of the policies and they are responsible for all charges they incurred they stayed. The $200 charge you are referring to is the smoking fee and we are a 100% non smoking hotel. When ever a guest smokes in room, we have to put the room out of order which is the reason why we charge this fee. We do prefer not charge the smoking fee but we were left no choice when the room had to be put out of order. Please feel free to contact us if you have any further questions. Arthur A. Front Desk Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Fernando Valley, CA

Hotel across the street from the beach

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Good rates for a hotel across the street from the beach. Friendly staff and close to both Newport Beach and Huntington Beach.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Think twice before booking

Posted Aug 24, 2017
On the poistive side the hotel is close to the beach and provide beach gear. On the negative side the attitude of the hotel front desk truly is one of the worst i have encountered and the room provided had a hole in the rug and smelled like mildew/mold. Intially our plans changed and we wanted to moce our stay for the same length forward two days. Expedia and i were unable to negotiate this with out a huge charge. They offered partial ocean view which was a joke. It meant you git to face the highway and see the ocean between buildings. When we asked to change rooms we were told we couldnt until i told them i was cancelling and would provide suitable feedback. Honestly this is a 2 star hotel close to the beach. The fact it is rated higher is not accurate and reflects the inaccuracy of expedia ratings. I dont think i have ever given a hotel a megative rating but this hotel deserves it and i would encourage travellers to be more honest in their evaluations so others xan make their travel choices based on accurate information.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Arthur, Hotel Management
Dear David Thank You very much for your candid and honest remarks regarding your stay. On behalf of our hotel, I apologize that we did not exceed your expectations. We will use your feed back to implement steps to improve our service. We do hope you will give us another chance to earn your business back. Arthur A. Front Desk Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great beach getaway!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
This is the perfect beach getaway! Right across the street from the ocean and the hotel provides beach chairs and umbrellas, plus a free breakfast. Comfy beds, goo!
4 out of 5
by Craig

Great place to stay

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
Easy walk to beach, hotel loans chairs, umbrella, towels, and toys for the beach. Quick drive to pier area. Surprisingly quiet in room, with street literally out the sliding door. They are about to do not remodel, complete with a rename.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Arthur, Hotel Management
Dear Craig Thank you very much for your review. We can't to see you on future visits as we finish the remodel. Arthur A. Front Desk Manager
4 out of 5
by David

Newport Beach Get-Away

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Hotels
It's all about LOCATION, you can't bet this location! And convenience, the beach is right there, no messing with parking because you park at the hotel.
5 out of 5
by Diana

Great beach hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Hotels
Th he hotel was great and conveniently located a block from the beach. Construction had the pool closed, however.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2017 by Arthur, Hotel Management
Dear Diana Thank You very much for your kind remarks. We love making our guests happy and hope to see you very soon. Arthur A. Front Desk Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
Great location, easy walk to and from the beach. The room was clean, and breakfast was varied and well stocked. Restaurants right next door, which were excellent. In general, the hotel is clean and the staff friendly. We would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Valerie Valle

A great night stay.

Posted Jul 1, 2017 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay. Perfect location from the beach, and just a short drive to the pier. Breakfast was fresh and hot. The only thing that freaked us out was the elevator. It creaked going up, and makes a loud sound when it hits ground level. It also squeeked every time the doors opened. We took the stairs, good work out since we were on the 3rd floor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2017 by Arthur, Hotel Management
Dear Valerie Valle Thank you very much for your kind remarks. We love making our guests happy and hope to see you again soon. Arthur A. Front Desk Manager