Ratings based on 842 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

Getting to the beach was an easy 2 block walk.

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Pros: The location was great. Not too much commercialization, & lots of good food choices. Their whale/dolphin watching recommendation was spot on.
Location: Great food close by.
Have hotel furnished beach chairs & towels was a huge plus. Resting on the beach was a very relaxing experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2017 by Arthur A, Hotel Management
Dear Chloe: Thank you very much for your review,. We love taking care of our guests and hope to see you again very soon. Arthur A.Adolphson Front Desk Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Value close to beach

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Excellent complimentary breakfast. Friendly staff. Short walk to beach. Convenient loaning of beach towels and beach chairs. Overnight parking fee was only $7. Thank you for pleasant and affordable lodging in Newport Beach area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2017 by Arthur A, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay. We love making our guests happy and hope to see you very soon. Arthur A. Front Desk Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Dishonest Owner/Manager

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Quite surprised to see an additional $200 charge after we checked out. Appears it's another income stream for them. When discussed with the "owner" she was rude, disrespectful & refused to reverse unsubstantiated charge. I would head farther down PCH & stay at the Hilton, where we normally stay & never had any issues. Better location & closer to great eateries & across from beach. This establishment totally lacks customer service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Arthur A, Hotel Management
Dear Mike I do apologize that you had an issue with our stay. I do want to point out that we do have policies in place and we do have our guests sign the folio stating they are aware of the policies and they are responsible for all charges they incurred they stayed. The $200 charge you are referring to is the smoking fee and we are a 100% non smoking hotel. When ever a guest smokes in room, we have to put the room out of order which is the reason why we charge this fee. We do prefer not charge the smoking fee but we were left no choice when the room had to be put out of order. Please feel free to contact us if you have any further questions. Arthur A. Front Desk Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Fernando Valley, CA

Hotel across the street from the beach

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Good rates for a hotel across the street from the beach. Friendly staff and close to both Newport Beach and Huntington Beach.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Think twice before booking

Posted Aug 24, 2017
On the poistive side the hotel is close to the beach and provide beach gear. On the negative side the attitude of the hotel front desk truly is one of the worst i have encountered and the room provided had a hole in the rug and smelled like mildew/mold. Intially our plans changed and we wanted to moce our stay for the same length forward two days. Expedia and i were unable to negotiate this with out a huge charge. They offered partial ocean view which was a joke. It meant you git to face the highway and see the ocean between buildings. When we asked to change rooms we were told we couldnt until i told them i was cancelling and would provide suitable feedback. Honestly this is a 2 star hotel close to the beach. The fact it is rated higher is not accurate and reflects the inaccuracy of expedia ratings. I dont think i have ever given a hotel a megative rating but this hotel deserves it and i would encourage travellers to be more honest in their evaluations so others xan make their travel choices based on accurate information.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Arthur, Hotel Management
Dear David Thank You very much for your candid and honest remarks regarding your stay. On behalf of our hotel, I apologize that we did not exceed your expectations. We will use your feed back to implement steps to improve our service. We do hope you will give us another chance to earn your business back. Arthur A. Front Desk Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great beach getaway!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
This is the perfect beach getaway! Right across the street from the ocean and the hotel provides beach chairs and umbrellas, plus a free breakfast. Comfy beds, goo!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by William

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 20, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 15, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Cristina

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 11, 2017 on Hotels