Ratings based on 1,893 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

good for overnight

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Pros: value
Cons: restaurant
Location: newport beach
the hotel is being renovated. this did not interfere with our stay. everything was as expected, and the front desk staff members were very helpful. our room was quiet except for the usual drone of air conditioners, as the windows were sealed shut. parking was easy. the location was convenient for us. the only negative was the restaurant. though we were the only patrons when we entered, the hostess showed us to a small table in the corner near the door to the renovations. it just showed a lack of judgment, and we said we wanted another table. since there was no one else there, she did not object but seemed a bit flustered. the food was so-so, not particularly tasty but prepared properly (the meal was breakfast). a bit pricey, but not atypical of other hotel restaurant prices. despite the restaurant experience, the stay was fine and the value was excellent.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami

Horrible hotel

Posted Oct 23, 2017
I had rented for 4 nights at this hotel and ended up checking out after the first night. The hotel was in horrible condition, nothing like the photos. Staff was rude and not welcoming at all. I had reserved a room with one bedroom and got a standard room, the assistant manager told me they didn't have the room I had reserved. I checked out in the morning and found another hotel 4 minutes away which was amazing for almost the same price. I'm constantly traveling and this is the WORST hotel I have ever stayed in.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Stayed in much nicer hotels - this one was noisy, some of staff not friendly or helpful
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from palmdale,Ca

Under construction

Posted Oct 10, 2017
The hotel was under construction! The room they gave us had a view of the airport we could see planes taking off which we loved we didn't even mind the noice. What did bother us is that their is a night club envy lounge across the street and it was way louder than the planes taking off at late hours (1am). Breakfast buffet was good. The pool is gorgeous but you had to walk trough the construction to get to the pool :/ did not like that! Over all it was an okay hotel! Would I stay again maybe! if they're done with construction but on the opposite side so I don't hear all the commotion from the night club!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from phoenix

Carlton Hyatt

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pictures doesn't do justice for this hotel. Was called the Raddison hotel and when you look up its closed. Same pics used for the Carlton. The outside looks like a hurricane hit it and the rooms date back to the seventies. Not of Hyatt quality. One elevator for everyone to use takes 10 min. Felt like it was a motel 6. Not worth the money for all the noise outside of the airport next to them.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Inland Empire

2nd visit

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: Post a notice when they are under a major renovation.
Location: Beach's (Huntington, Laguna, Balboa, Corona Del Mar, Laguna) all can be visited in one day.
Wished we had known it was still under construction. The hike from the room (10th floor..even though we told them we were handicapped) to the pool is too much. Also, put us on the construction side of the hotel (waking up to jack hammering on a Saturday morning while on vacation not so pleasant). Should also let their customers know there is a free buffet happy hour in the lounge with 1/2 price drinks. The staff however was very very nice and eager to help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Nice hotel friendly staff

Posted Sep 28, 2017
I really enjoyed staying here. Check in process was quick and painless, the room was a nice size and the bed was comfortable. I also met a lovely woman named Guadalupe who worked in the restaurant during breakfast, and she really went above and beyond to make my breakfast experience enjoyable. Truly lovely and kind woman, the type of dedicated employee businesses are always lucky to find. My only complaint about my stay was the bathtubs- the water temperature was extremely hard to manage- your only options were ice cold or scalding hot, no in between. That was a challenge. Otherwise great experience and great price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2017 by Aisa Keeler, Hotel Management
Thank you for a 5 star review. We appreciate your kind comments and looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland

Friendly and accommodating staff but construction

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: Comfy beds. Front desk lady was super kind and welcoming!
Cons: Pest control! Find ulternate way to pool area for guests! Teach waiter what a vinegar tasting (spoiled) wine is, and doesnt matter if new bottle!
Location: Close to John Wayne airport.
First off, the front desk S taff was great! But construction mess made getting to the pool nearly mpossible without walking through and around a dark parking lot at night to get to the hot tub. While enjoying the hot tub/spa, we spotted a giant cockroach that crawled inches away from the edge of the spa! I thought only Florida had them that big! Literally was an inch long, and quite fat! The plants by the pool had huge snails in the garden that were both interesting and gross! Beds were comfy, hotel was surprisingly quiet, despite construction, but it was too pricey for the amount of construction mess and inconvience it caused. Hotel restaurant was over priced, too heavy on the salt, visible dust, needs updating, televisions are positioned in poor areas that only bar patrons can see, but it blasts the guests who are trying to enjoy their over priced meals in the dining area without a TV, no day light to dining area, and server doesn't understand the concept of spoiled wine (vinegar taste) from a new bottle! He literally made me feel bad because he just opened up a fresh bottle, and it reaked of vinegar and was undrinkable! I didn't care for the house wine, and at that point, he could have offered a complementary glass or 1/2 glass for the price of then having to go up to the most expensive wine by glass on the menu. He was also painfully slow, with a hungry child eating at a late dinner hour, however was friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2017 by Aisa Keeler, Hotel Management
Thank you for a 4 star review. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
4 out of 5
by Lizette

Posted Sep 18, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 24, 2017
Thank you for a 4 star review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Under Construction

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Nice Staff but a lot of noise. Between being directly across the street from the airport and the jack hammers tearing out concrete is was loud. It is a very old and outdated hotel in the middle of a complete and much neede overhaul.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2017 by Aisa Keeler, Hotel Management
We are sorry you are unhappy with your stay. We are currently undergoing renovations to improve our facilities to better serve you. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff and look forward to welcome you again in the future