Ratings based on 1,729 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Great hotel would come back with family for sure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by Ashley R., Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kerrville, Texas

Amazing

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Elevator was under construction for the first 24 hours. Keeping up with maintenance in a timely manner
Location: Perfect location! Located across the street from Fashion Island.
From the valet, to the bell men, to the front desk, to room services it was a perfect experience. Hotel staff were extremely helpful and kind. Facility was extremely clean and inviting. My stay was a great ending to a 7 day work trip. Thank you for all you do!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2017 by Ashley R., Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Comfortable Accommodations by the Beach

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: Everything was above average - the staff, cleanliness of the room, relaxing and well-maintained grounds,
Cons: 24 hour room service.
Location: We enjoyed Sunday brunch at Bayside Restaurant after a night out at Holiday.
We planned on staying one night to attend a concert. Everything was above average - the staff, cleanliness of the room, relaxing and well-maintained grounds, proximity to the beach and local restaurants. We will plan on extending our stay longer next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2017 by Ashley R., Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review of our hotel and your beautiful pictures! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 1, 2017
great service, great location, very professional friendly staff would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a high end hotel, with restaurant and bar, if you get your reservation placed early enough the rates aren't so bad actually comparably priced to a hotel a lot less up scale, has a golf course and bicycles for their guests as part of the package price
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2017 by Ashley R., Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PDX

Great location small beds

Posted Dec 1, 2017
The location of this hotel is amazing and the grounds are very pretty. The front desk staff was very accommodating. My only complaints are the room we had, had two beds but they were not queens. They were soooo small. My two teens did not fit in it together. Also housekeeping would come fairly early, 9am and if we were not out of the room by then they wouldn’t clean our room. We had four people in our room so it was hard for us all to be up and showered by 9am. Plus we were on vacation and all like to sleep in a little. We stayed for for 5 days and four night and housekeeping never cleaned or changed our sheets once.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2017 by Ashley R., Hotel Management
Dear Jen, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. I have forwarded your concerns to our housekeeping manager to follow up with his team. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dated, poor quality hotel. Not worth the money.

Posted Nov 25, 2017
Pros: Location
Convenient location but dated hotel. Should be an embarrassment to Hyatt.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2017 by Ashley R., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alamo, California

Great location. Beautiful, unbelievable grounds!

Posted Nov 25, 2017
Pros: The location. The well manicured gardens.
Cons: New Beds. Pillows. Towels, etc. Updated furniture.
Room interiors need updating. Bed was uncomfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2017 by Ashley R., Hotel Management
Dear Flint, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Camarillo, California

Perfect location to Balboa Island

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Pros: The rooms all seem to be placed around the pool so you have a balcony and a nice view. We loved the outside eating area / restaurant with fire pits.
Cons: Our room was very dusty - we could write our names on the tables..... We weren’t too happy about that. We chose not to call & complain.
Location: Balboa island I think this is one of the closet hotels to it. The mall is close (5 min drive)
Warm greeting on arrival. Booked last minute and was not disappointed we love Hyatt hotels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2017 by Ashley R., Hotel Management
Dear Marina, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I have forwarded your concerns to our housekeeping manager to review with his staff. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Disappointing stay at the Hyatt in Newport Beach

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Unfortunately my family and I didn't like this hotel and couldn't wait to leave after our one night stay. The hotel itself is very lacklustre and reminded us of a motel, (a nice one) and not a hotel. The lobby area in tiny and very basic. The valet guy wasn't particularly friendly and the staff at check in were also not as cheery as we often experience at good hotels. Our room was very inconvenient to get to with two young kids who were already as sleep when we checked in in the late evening - it would have been nice if they offered us a ride in a golf cart to get to our room faster. The walls were so thin that we had to ask to switch rooms as the guests above us were having a little party. They accommodated our request right away but unfortunately the new room was almost just as loud between people walking back and forth to their rooms and the noisy AC. The room was cleaned OK but the bathroom wasn't spotless. The entire place just seemed a bit dingy.. Won't stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2017 by Ashley R, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles California

Bay view... Not a chance

Posted Nov 14, 2017
I am really disappointed with the room that I received I paid extra money so I had a Bay View room on my birthday and after looking over the top of the golf course and through palm trees I can see about 20% of the bay and the boats needless to say I don't think I should have paid the extra surcharge for having a Bay View room. Overall I'm extremely disappointed because I paid extra money to have a baby view room on my birthday and it was nothing to brag about if you squint you can see the boats and some water but that was it I really hope Expedia looks into possibly getting me in some of my money back