Ratings based on 1,832 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Beautiful grounds and a sweet location. The hotel was very lively and Brian McKnight had a show the night we arrived. We had a bay view and could hear the music, it was great. Parking is a bit excessive for guests however we knew that going in. Great job to the staff and we will definitely be coming back.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Dirty underwear found on the side of the bed, hair ball in the shower, and bed bugs!! Would never stay there again!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice setup with good facilities

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Golf course could have been better maintained but facilities good, nice outside seating arrangements, 3 pools and friendly and efficient staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Peterborough UK

Hyatt Newport Beach California

Posted Aug 30, 2017
We have been coming to this hotel for the past 20+ years on holiday. It's ideally situated for the centre of Newport Beach and other coastal towns are easily accessible. A family friendly hotel with 3 pools, which are never crowded and in spacious grounds. The rooms are functional rather than plush but perfectly suitable for our extended stay. We plan to return again next year.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Not what I expected from a hotel of this sort.

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Good location. Great swimming pool.
Cons: Tell people that they can use back parking lot and haul their luggage via a ramp instead of telling everyone to head down through the main guest lobby
Surprisingly this was an old remodeled motel. We had a secluded room downstairs with accessibility option. Thus I believe the door to the bathroom was made in such a way that it would not close all the way leaving a one inch gap. That and having no fan installed made the experience all the more exquisite. From the git go the front desk rep made a typo in the deposit amount which resulted in a charge bending to my credit card in the amount of 4500.00 The shower head was a leaking fountain which was promptly replaced upon mentioning it to the manager. The dry wall in the bathroom was falling apart due to moisture damage from the shower. That had not been addressed nor was the debris cleaned up for a couple of days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Clemente, CA

Beautiful hotel and grounds- a wait for service

Posted Aug 23, 2017
It was our honeymoon night! The grounds were Beautiful- so many places to take photos and they let us have an extended stay- however the hotel staff were often hard to get ahold of as we had to phone the front desk several times before we could get anyone to help and then also to check in with our wedding party so we could get ready for the wedding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scottsdale, az

Great value in Newport beach

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The hotel staff was great, the layout was very kid-friendly, and it was a great place for a family to stay. The lobby bar is a coffee/breakfast spot In the morning which is really convenient, you can order lunch and drinks at any of the pools or restaurants, and there are fun activities on site.... shuffleboard, ping pong, and all the pools are open late. I would definitely come back to stay here. My only complaint is the daily parking fee
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Palm Springs

Nice hotel, but not up to Hyatt standard.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: See above
Location: shop and escape the circus at the hotel.
Room on the second floor with elephant herd overhead. Kids screaming in the hallways. "Gift shop" was open exactly 2 times out of the 7 times we passed it... in it's out-of-the-way location on the walk to the parking lot. Grounds were nice. Main pool was a circus, quiet relaxation was available only at the secondary pool... which was fine. Cocktail waitress in the outside balcony never approached us until we were finishing the drink I obtained from the indoor bar. Construction was happening literally outside our balcony in the room we had requested to be "quiet".
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Nice hotel with water slide for the kids

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The hotel is very nice but an older hotel that Hyatt has updated. Check-in staff was outstanding. Water slide for kids kept them busy for hours!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorba Linda CA

Convenient to everything

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Grand old lady, but getting a bit long in the tooth, still a great place to be.