Ratings based on 1,905 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles California

Bay view... Not a chance

Posted Nov 14, 2017
I am really disappointed with the room that I received I paid extra money so I had a Bay View room on my birthday and after looking over the top of the golf course and through palm trees I can see about 20% of the bay and the boats needless to say I don't think I should have paid the extra surcharge for having a Bay View room. Overall I'm extremely disappointed because I paid extra money to have a baby view room on my birthday and it was nothing to brag about if you squint you can see the boats and some water but that was it I really hope Expedia looks into possibly getting me in some of my money back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel close to Newport's Back Bay

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: Staff was incredibly friendly and attentive
Location: 10 minute drive from Crystal Cove State Beach
Wonderful staff and beautiful hotel with a refined, but relaxed atmosphere.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Beware the extra costs!

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Pros: The staff, grounds, and pools were all first rate.
Cons: Double glazing would cut aircraft noise, and ending the hidden charges would improve guests' checkout experience. (And extra bedding would be nice.)
Location: Very close to the shopping at Fashion Island and the excellent restaurants at Newport Beach.
Be warned: when you check out, you'll be hit with a big charge for self parking -- not valet parking, parking your own car in the hotel's parking lot! The current charge is $27 a day! But wait...they'll also stick a similar daily amount on your bill as a "resort fee," like the increasingly common "facility fee" scam at concert venues. Incidentally, my room was somewhere between weird and awful: aircraft noise from the nearby airport (I found earplugs next to Gideon's Bible in the bedside drawer, so I wasn't the first to notice the noise), no extra bedding in the closet on a cold night, the toilet jammed next to the shower (you want a wet floor next to your toilet?), no closing mechanism on the bathroom doors...I could go on. On the plus side, all the staff I met were friendly and professional, the grounds are lovely, and the big pool's great. But those extra charges and bad room design spoiled it all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, extra resort charges are a bit dodgy.

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Hotel overall was very good, had a nice stay, environment and cleanness are satisfying. But the extra high charge on selfparking and 'resort' fee on top of room rate was a bit dodgy when you compare their price with other hotels around. They charge that fee for every day you stay, while not included in your room rate quotation. So watch out for those charges before you book.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Shuttle unreliable.

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Ok hotel. Easy to spend a lot on room service. The shuttle is unreliable. Take a taxi or uber.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco ca

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Clean environment friendly staff check in experience was a little slow fun golf experience good exercise room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Very accommodating hotel

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: Location, multiple pools, great lobby area and coffee set up. It's not free or included but it's the perfect relaxing start for the day!
Location: They have a full shuttle service to the main shopping area and Balboa Island area.. Very close to all.
The staff really goes out of their way to make your stay good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Location is great, but over all disappointing

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: The pool, fitness center and walking trails
Cons: Noise. The doors need to be less heavy or have a soft closing mechanism installed on them so its not a contact loud slamming noise.
Location: Fashion show mall, marina, beach, shopping, restaurants.
The hotel is in a great location with walking trails, close to the marina, multiple pools and a updated fitness center. Unfortunately, the rooms are little outdated and not very clean. The 1st room they gave us has very dirty and had pee on the toilet and floor as well as the tub had large rusty pink scum on it. They ended up moving us, but not without attitude and stating the have nothing that is the same as our room and then magically they had a few other rooms open after I called back a 2nd time. I think this was due to booking with Expedia and not directly and they were saving the better rooms for there people that booked direct with them. The biggest issue we had was that the hotel is VERY noisy. All night long we heard doors slamming, the hall way door slamming and people yelling. This would go on from 9PM-3AM and then start up again around 5AM so you only get a few hours of good sleep. The have a out door bar that people hang out and are loud into the early morning hours. We were in the part of the hotel connected to the lobby, so maybe if you were in the buildings on the edge of the property you would not have the same issues we had.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful grounds, great staff

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Noisy - pool, party in ballroom nearby, could hear people in the next toom talking late into the night
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

"Staff was exceptional!!!

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Staff was excellent, when their was an issue they FIXED it. Very helpful!!!!