Ratings based on 1,304 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2017
the hotel was nice and clean. my room was on 6th floor and facing the pool. I could hear the music and noise from the bar so it was very difficult to sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Southern Calif

location, location, location......

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: 5 star hotel.....perfect
Cons: bath tub and shower....small with a glass door....cramped
Location: fashion island...restaurants, movies, shops, etc ....great
Had a great time and enjoyed the hotel....walked to fashion island and enjoyed the high end shops.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, TX

California Vacation

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Wow! We love vacationing in California and the Island Hotel Newport Beach absolutely amazes us each time. Wonderful hotel with an excellent staff ready to make your stay with them one to remember! Thanks you all so much!!⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

DO NOT TRUST THE STAFF THERE!! TREATED UNFAIRLY!!!

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: HOW YOU TREAT YOUR CUSTOMER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
To keep the story short...I accidentally left my water bottle on the front desk when I checked it... I admit that it was my own fault, but when I returned after around 10 minutes it was gone. The front desk staff (without telling me the truth that he accidentally had given my bottle to someone else). I mean, it's not an expensive bottle, however it was a gift from my dad, so I didn't wanna lose it. I returned from dinner which was almost two hours later, again without telling me the truth, the same staff told me that he'll have someone sent my water bottle to my room. I woke up the next morning, still didn't see my water bottle. I had to check out the same day, and so I asked the front desk again. This time it was a different staff, who could not find my water bottle anywhere. So their manager came out and explained to me that they had accidentally gave it to someone else, and the guests had also refused to return...But they said they'll definitely try to get it back and give me a call after two days. They've also provided me a gust relations number to call. A week later, no call. So I called, and I was transferred to security team who said he was not the one responsible for the case but had sent an email to the responsible person who would call me back the next day. Again, nothing happened. Two weeks later, I called again to Guest Relations, and was treated unfairly. At one point he said, are you sure you are just calling abt a water bottle? I don't understand what you want.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location.

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Our stay was excellent and we had a very nice experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Very nice suite! Nice view. Very spacious. Very nice suite! Nice view. Very spacious Very nice suite! Nice view. Very spacious
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tacoma, WA

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Lovely hotel, wonderful staff. Could not have enjoyed ourselves more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

staycation with kids

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Great pool and friendly pool service. The Oak Grill has amazingnfood and service. Love this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Nice, resort feel and beach view.

Posted Jun 12, 2017
Pros: The pool was very nice.
Cons: The room was not very clean, there was sand on the furniture and the carpet needed cleaning.
Amenities are excellent! The food at the Oak Grill was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Destination property in Newport Beach

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: Outdoors, I like the effort made to separate into kids areas (pool) and an adult conversation space around the fire pit. Please stop cigar smokers!
Location: Superb location, across street from Fashion Island.
Right in the center of the shopping/commercial hub of Orange County, this non-chain hotel has a relaxing, hospitable atmosphere. Very well maintained, clean, decorated in a sleek contemporary style, beachy colors, this hotel has the big companies beat. Social atmosphere around pool, conversation fire pit, at lobby bar. Excellent service in all departments, every staff member smiles with each guest interaction. They all seem to want an outstanding experience for guests. Not over-the-top luxury, but they do a great job.