Ratings based on 1,316 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orange county

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Less than 1 mn from one of the elegant shopping center, nice staff , i liked the pool and the exotic drinks by the pool , i wanted to try it all , People are very friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brea,ca

needed a day away

Posted Aug 17, 2017
we went to oc fair and stayed here instead of driving home,beautiful hotel, excellent staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

Nice Hotel, shopping, close to beach

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: It was all good
Location: Shopping across the street, the beach was just a short trip to
The outdoor sitting by the fire pit was Awesome! the DJ at night in Aqua, Perfect as well! Uber was close to beach, Shopping across the way
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berwyn, Pa

Posted Aug 2, 2017
The staff members are always friendly and helpful. Service is taken care of promptly. Great location and atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toledo, Ohio

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: Convenience to Fashion Island
Cons: Nothing
Location: Can walk to Fashion Island. Minutes to other area restaurants.
Excellent service. Comfortable and clean facilities
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay away

Posted Jul 23, 2017
If you have a family with kids stay away room , service expects tips for to do there jobs . Otherwise they would leave room half cleaned .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Good Evening, I am so sorry to hear that the cleaning of your room was an issue. I have alerted our Director of Housekeeping to speak with the staff. This is not our policy by any means. Thank you for your feedback.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from royal oak, mi

Amazing hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pool grounds of the island hotel in Newport Beach are in par with any 5-star resort. Rooms were super clean and comfy. Staff at the hotels was so friendly and helpful. Highly recommend this to families or couples. Little bit of a drive to the beach action, but the hotel quality is well with the sacrifice. Easy to drive or uber to the action at beach towns like Newport and laguna. High recommend!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Good Evening Mike, We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Island Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodbury Heights, NJ

Friendly Staff

Posted Jul 14, 2017
The Island Hotel has a wonderful staff. The vallet staff, desk, housekeeping, pool server and everyone we came in contact with were wonderful. Andrew from the bell services started our trip off great and we continued to treated with the same warm smiles from everyone. Opting to add the Island Club to our stay worked wonderfully. The consierge staff (especially Sally) gave us great recommendations and the snacks were great. My largest complaint was that there was a conference at the hotel that they shut the pool early for one day so the area could be used for a reception. I think all guest should have been provided notice the day prior so we could have made plans. Unfortunately that day, we had a hot shopping day in Laguna and got to the pool later in the afternoon to be asked to leave shortly thereafter. This was in no way acceptable. It is definitely the reason I can't rate this hotel higher. Overlooking a couple of dated things in the room is easy. Ignoring that you are taking away a guest amenity without notice is another. Shame on management for this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pa.

Great Hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2017
The staff is very nice, the hotel is in good shape, they could do without the extra $35 fee for parking and $20 resort fee plus taxes, this ends up costing you $65 extra night, beware!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel and great location in Newport

Posted Jul 10, 2017
I would definitely stay here again. My entire time there was great, from check in to check out.