Ratings based on 1,380 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The perfect getaway!!!

Posted Oct 8, 2017
My boyfriend and I wanted to get away for the weekend. We didn’t have time to plan it. It was a last minute thing. I’m very pleased with our choice. Excellent hotel, great location, extremely great staff. Great experience and I’ll do it again and again 😊
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saudi Arabia

nice hotel

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: view, location, friendly staff and outdoor sitting area
Cons: A/c noise, mattress and move the coffee machine outside the bathroom
Location: Fashion island an outdoor shopping, many restaurants in the area beach walk
visited the hotel in September no self parking and the valet team very friendly 5 star treatment. frond desk nice team and helpful. nice outdoor sitting area smoking OK. rooms are large, clean and very nice view, beds are old or mattress was not comfortable. a/c gives some noise but OK i had a pleasant stay at the island and i recommend it very relaxing. one thing i didn't like having the coffee machine inside the bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from ORANGE COUNTY, CA

THE BEST OF THE BEST

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: EVERYTHING ....AND I DO MEAN EVERYTHING.
Cons: RAISE THE PRESSURE IN THE SHOWER.....LOL
Location: LOCATION IS GREAT...WALKING TO FASHION ISLAND / WITH PLENTY TO DO. JUST A BEAUTIFUL LOCATION.
AS SOON AS WE ARRIVED, THE STAFF WAS FANTASTIC...FROM THE FIRST CHECK IN TO THE PERFECT ROOM. WE ONLY STAY AT THE BEST HOTELS AND THIS IS BY FAR OUR BEST ONE. THE AQUA LOUNGE WA BEAUTIFUL AND THE DRINKS ARE THE BEST IN NEWPORT. MY WIFE AND I LOVE THE ISLAND HOTEL AND PLAN ON GOING THERE MANY MORE TIMES. VERY ROMANTIC, ACROSS FROM GREAT SHOPPING AND FOOD AT FASHION ISLAND....JUST PERFECT.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Convenient

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Conveniently located and comfortable hotel. Staff in the restaurant was excellent! The room could have used a bit of cleaning on the AC vent grate, but otherwise it was comfortable and clean. It is located directly across the street from a Neiman Marcus and the mall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Wonderful

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Location and amenities.
Location: See above with this add - if you have a car drive to Laguna Beach and enjoy the shops Art or the beach. Balboa - Bayside rest. for live jazz and food
We have stayed here many times and will return again. All members of the staff are very helpful and knowledgeable about the surrounds. The hotel has an excellent work out area; large pool and whirl pool (separate - not attached to pool); a large fireplace near the back of the pool where you can sit by the fire and enjoy a drink or 3. The out door bar with live music is wonderful with a caveat.There is a large fire pit and lounge chairs everywhere. The music was excellent with different performers nightly.The caveat is the business men seem to gather here with copious amount of cigars, so if this will bother you there are other spots to go. The hotel could not be located better - shopping at Fashion Mall; great restaurants all within walking distance. Just a great experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback and review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are currently reviewing our cigar policy and our guest feedback is instrumental in our decision making. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eagle, Colorado

Bike Ride

Posted Sep 20, 2017
I'm at a very boring seminar. Let's meet at the bar after the seminar and be bored more. Not going to happen. The Island Hotel had a wonderful beach bicycle ready to go for me. Bicycle, lock, helmet, water, map all as a free amenity. I took off at 5pm and rode to the beach, rode on the beach, all around the beach, on Balboa Island, Fashion Island to buy souveners and more. I rode 30 miles plus, all on bike trails. Got back in the dark and handed back the bike. Now that's a great hotel stay! Thank you Island Hotel! Stan
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Stan, Thank you so much for your feedback and review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our bikes and the area! Its always nice when you can spice up a business trip. We look forward to having you here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: I've been there prior but never over night
Cons: nothing
Location: great restaurants, shops... Fashion Island can't go wrong.
Very nice, clean facility and room, great location, friendly staff...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TX

Great location

Posted Sep 10, 2017
They tack on s great deal of extra charges like resort fees and destination fees that the bill at the end makes it SO not worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UT

Very welcoming hotel. Older and nicely kept.

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Beautiful pool and hot tub area.
Location: Great location. Right in the center of Newport Beach and within a 15 minute drive of the beach.
I brought my three daughters to this hotel and had a wonderful time with them. We reserved a corner suite which worked beautifully with a king bed and in one room and a pull out queen bed and roll out in the other. I will stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Vicki, Thank you so much for your feedback, we are delighted you and your family enjoyed your time here at Island Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you all again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel close to many beaches and the mall

Posted Sep 5, 2017
I stayed their with my family and we all had a great time. I had been there 3 times before on business trips and this time I went back for a vacation. Hotel staff are wonderful and very friendly. The hotel is beautiful. We found it very convenient to be near the Fashion Island shopping mall. It is also close to 3 beautiful beaches, Balboa Island, Laguna Beach and Huntington beach. I highly recommend this hotel and Newport beach for a vacation. I will be going back for my next vacation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback, we are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon, whether for business or pleasure!