Ratings based on 1,349 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Wonderful

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Location and amenities.
Location: See above with this add - if you have a car drive to Laguna Beach and enjoy the shops Art or the beach. Balboa - Bayside rest. for live jazz and food
We have stayed here many times and will return again. All members of the staff are very helpful and knowledgeable about the surrounds. The hotel has an excellent work out area; large pool and whirl pool (separate - not attached to pool); a large fireplace near the back of the pool where you can sit by the fire and enjoy a drink or 3. The out door bar with live music is wonderful with a caveat.There is a large fire pit and lounge chairs everywhere. The music was excellent with different performers nightly.The caveat is the business men seem to gather here with copious amount of cigars, so if this will bother you there are other spots to go. The hotel could not be located better - shopping at Fashion Mall; great restaurants all within walking distance. Just a great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eagle, Colorado

Bike Ride

Posted Sep 20, 2017
I'm at a very boring seminar. Let's meet at the bar after the seminar and be bored more. Not going to happen. The Island Hotel had a wonderful beach bicycle ready to go for me. Bicycle, lock, helmet, water, map all as a free amenity. I took off at 5pm and rode to the beach, rode on the beach, all around the beach, on Balboa Island, Fashion Island to buy souveners and more. I rode 30 miles plus, all on bike trails. Got back in the dark and handed back the bike. Now that's a great hotel stay! Thank you Island Hotel! Stan
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: I've been there prior but never over night
Cons: nothing
Location: great restaurants, shops... Fashion Island can't go wrong.
Very nice, clean facility and room, great location, friendly staff...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TX

Great location

Posted Sep 10, 2017
They tack on s great deal of extra charges like resort fees and destination fees that the bill at the end makes it SO not worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UT

Very welcoming hotel. Older and nicely kept.

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Beautiful pool and hot tub area.
Location: Great location. Right in the center of Newport Beach and within a 15 minute drive of the beach.
I brought my three daughters to this hotel and had a wonderful time with them. We reserved a corner suite which worked beautifully with a king bed and in one room and a pull out queen bed and roll out in the other. I will stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Vicki, Thank you so much for your feedback, we are delighted you and your family enjoyed your time here at Island Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you all again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel close to many beaches and the mall

Posted Sep 5, 2017
I stayed their with my family and we all had a great time. I had been there 3 times before on business trips and this time I went back for a vacation. Hotel staff are wonderful and very friendly. The hotel is beautiful. We found it very convenient to be near the Fashion Island shopping mall. It is also close to 3 beautiful beaches, Balboa Island, Laguna Beach and Huntington beach. I highly recommend this hotel and Newport beach for a vacation. I will be going back for my next vacation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback, we are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon, whether for business or pleasure!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Sep 4, 2017
For a quick getaway it was nice. The pool was small, with limited seating. Poolside service was good. The room was comfortable. The staff was nice. Shops and restaurants a few steps away. Extra $25 charge is questionable for stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear K, Thank you so much for your feedback, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Island Hotel. We take great pride in our staff, and they'll be happy to know they served you well. We take our feedback very seriously, so we appreciate your candidness regarding the destination fee. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Outdated hotel with poor service. Pool and restaurant service the slowest we have experienced. Room cleanliness not impressive and outdated plumbing and bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake Sherwood CC/Westlake Village, Ca.

Three Day Getaway!

Posted Aug 28, 2017
We loved our 3 Day mini vacation at the Islands Hotel in Fashion Island in Newport Beach,Ca. It was once a Four Seasons Hotel and is now owned & operated by the Irvine Company! It's a stunning resort hotel with Beautiful Lobby, Fantastic Staff, Aqua Bar and Oak Restaurant, all outstanding. It's a treat like being in Hawaii! The rooms are Large & Spacious and very Luxurious. There is a view from every room either the northern coastline & the back Bay it the southern coastline facing Corona Del Mar! A real treat. Expedia thru Trip Advisor had terrific rates which I would highly recommend, easy & convenient! Loved it. Valet service was the best, timely, Professional, & friendly!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Cathie, Thank you so much for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you all enjoyed your mini vacation here at Island Hotel. We take great pride in our hotel and in our staff especially, and I have shared your feedback with our Valet team. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Nice hotel, central location

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The hotel is very nice, the lobby especially. I wasn't to impressed with the room, it's an average 3 stars. The room was overlooking the pool area where they had loud music playing until late at night, couldn't really get much rest. I'm not sure if I would stay there again.