Ratings based on 1,214 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2018
Pros: Location, Staff, Rooms
Location: Fashion Island
Nice hotel in the middle of Newport Beach with great access to the Fashion Island Mall, Irvine, and the beaches. Older property that appears to have been well kept up and more recently refurbished. Would stay there again. Thanks Marriott.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Convenient Location, Great For Beaches

Posted Jan 5, 2018
The property is super convenient to southern LA beaches like Laguna, Newport, and Corona Del Mar. Balboa island is 1.5 miles away. Big time shopping and restaurants are literally out the front door at Fashion Island mall. 4 miles from John Wayne airport. We found this to be a great spot for our stay. I'd do it again if in LA.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel near the beach

Posted Dec 31, 2017
Pros: This staff is wonderful & very helpful. The rooms & bathroom are large. If you don't mind a little walk I would stay in the towers.
Cons: Just be sure to ask that you stay in a quiet area. I had to change my room the 2nd day as my room was near some mechanical machinery. Kept me awake.
Location: Lots of things to do....within walking distance. Balboa Island is a couple of miles away. Walk, drive or bike there. Fashion Island is within walking.
This one of the nicest hotel in the area. The rates are reasonable & service impeccable. I've stayed in several Marriott's and this is one of the nicest. You can't go wrong with good service & a smile.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable and quiet.

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Pros: It was quiet.
Location: Great location next to Fashion Island.
I was at the hotel in December so this wasn't really a problem, but the pool was closed and drained. I don't remember being informed that the pool would be closed before I booked the reservation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2017 by Joy W., Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing this review with us. We're delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay, and we appreciate your feedback about our pool. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Close to shopping and beaches

Posted Dec 23, 2017
Everything was perfect!!!! Just a short drive to Laguna Beach. Excellent shopping and dining options nearby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2017 by Joy W, Hotel Management
Thank you for this 5-star review, Brenda! We're thrilled you enjoyed our location and hope to welcome you again in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

New Port Beach, Marriott

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Hotel was remodeled since my last stay several years ago; now in beautiful condition. . Great location; short walk to Fashion Island shopping and Restaurants......staff was great. Starbucks in Hotel Lobby; very nice. Pool areas well kept and roomy...... Extra fees were a little bit of a surprise....$25 a day resort fee plus $29.00 a day self parking...outside of that I would highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2017 by Joy W., Hotel Management
Thank you for such a kind review and recommendation! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great View

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: Balcony
Very much enjoyed the hotel. Staff were very accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2017 by Joy W, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We're thrilled that you loved your stay. We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff as well! We hope to welcome you back soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2017
The room was not cleaned well and smelled of mildew. The front desk staff was rude and unhelpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2017 by Joy W, Hotel Management
We're concerned about your experience and are passing this feedback along to our management team.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from memphis tn

Ok place. Lots of expensive superfluous charges.

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Misleading practices with charges for various services including a destination fee, which staff claim cannot be refused and very expensive parking. Rude home administrative staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2017 by Joy W, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We're concerned about your experience and are passing this information along to the appropriate team members.
5 out of 5
by Kevin

Posted Nov 22, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2017
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you staying with us.