Ratings based on 2,419 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Under Construction

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Nice Staff but a lot of noise. Between being directly across the street from the airport and the jack hammers tearing out concrete is was loud. It is a very old and outdated hotel in the middle of a complete and much neede overhaul.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2017 by Aisa Keeler, Hotel Management
We are sorry you are unhappy with your stay. We are currently undergoing renovations to improve our facilities to better serve you. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff and look forward to welcome you again in the future
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It's about 15 minutes to the beach

Posted Sep 11, 2017
The pillows are not very comfortable other than that everything was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by Aisa Keeler, Hotel Management
Thank you for a 4 star review. We appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, Arizona

Great people

Posted Sep 9, 2017
The rooms are very nice and clean as well as the entire hotel. The staff is absolutely amazing I have never been in a place were every single staff member is happy and willing to assist you. I will definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Aisa Keeler, Hotel Management
Thank you for a 5 star review. We appreciate it and look forward to seeing you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Nice and clean room. Didn't have to pay for parking at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Aisa Keeler, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5 star review. We appreciate your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bait and switch

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Staff was very courteous
Cons: Hotel badly needs renovation (it is undergoing right now). However it was a bad idea to have it open during construction as it is bad for the brand
Location: SNA airport
Unfortunately this was a pretty disappointing experience. Pics on expedia looked great, and price was good, so I was quite happy when I found it on expedia, but when I checked it it was entirely different story. Two main issues: 1) Photos on expedia DO NOT MATCH the actual hotel. My room had much older furniture, the buffet didn't look anything like on the pics. This issue needs to be fixed by Expedia. 2) In-wall A/C units are very noisy. Even when my room's unit was not operating I could constantly hear a drone of the neighboring units. Sound isolation is bad. I didn't get a good night's sleep on every one of the 3 nights I stayed. Other issues: 3) Beds and linens have seen a lot of "mileage". Pillows were old and reeked, even though pillowcases were freshly replaced. 4) Breakfast buffet was really unappetizing and nothing like shown on the pics 5) Everything seemed old and hallway carpet had very unpleasant odor 6) Half of the TV channels didn't work well (fuzzy picture and bad sound)
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by Aisa Keeler, Hotel Management
We are sorry you were unhappy with your stay. We are currently undergoing renovations to improve our facilities to better serve you. We hope to address the issues you put forth during this process.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ventura County

Under Construction and needs total overhaul

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Rooms are outdated. Capet was torn by closet/entrance. Bath toilet did not flush completely. We advised front desk and they never went to repair it. Entire entrance of hotel is being demolished and we had to walk through the yellow tape and construction zone to get to pool which Is totally unsafe!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Aisa Keeler, Hotel Management
We are sorry that you were unhappy with your recent stay with us. We are currently undergoing construction to improve our facilities to better serve you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location, great price!

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Great price for the holiday weekend. Only downfall was the construction noise. Hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff was courteous and professional.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Aisa Keeler, Hotel Management
Thank you for a 5 star review. We appreciate it and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from arizona

Clean comfortable great location

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Hotel was under renovation but was clean, comfortable and the staff was very accommodating The location was perfect for visiting family and beach
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Aisa Keeler, Hotel Management
Thank you for a 5 star review. We appreciate it and looking forward to seeing you again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

across the street from the airport

Posted Aug 24, 2017
it was fine. i didnt realize it was right across the street from the airport though. i didnt like the check in area, it was hard to get into. i've been in worse and ive been in better. there was airport noise, so i probably wouldn't go back
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Aisa Keeler, Hotel Management
We are sorry you were not happy with your stay. We are currently undergoing renovations to improve our facilities to better serve you. We hope to make it up to you the next time you decide to stay with us in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

Stay away from this train wreck

Posted Aug 19, 2017
There was construction going when we arrived. Wen to hang out by the pool and no towels were available. Took 1.5 hours to get some. The bathtub was filthy and left you standing in 4" of water after a shower. I reported it before leaving for dinner and it was still not fixed the next day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017 by Aisa Keeler, Hotel Management
We are sorry you were not happy with your stay. We are currently undergoing renovations to improve our facilities to better serve you. We hope to make it better the next time you decide to stay with us.